How to (NOT) annoy your neighbors :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gruzzy47

Hey guys, this is my first post. :D

I'm a musician, and in the next month or two I will be buying my first RV and diving right into full timing.  As musicians, we often practice the same thing over and over...a least I do...but I am a bit of a perfectionist.  Other musicians get it, but roommates/neighbors sometimes don't.

I know RVs have thinner walls than a house, but how sound proof are they?  If I was inside an RV singing and playing an acoustic guitar, would somebody standing outside be able to hear?  What about neighbors in an RV site?  If they were parked next to me, could they hear me from inside of their RV?

Thanks!

Hi and welcome to the boards. I was a professional musician for many years, so I know what you are up against.

The answers to your questions are all yes, your neighbors will be able to hear you both inside and outside their RV's if you are playing inside of yours. An easy way for me to judge the sound proofness of my RV is to listen to my two dogs bark while inside compared to barking inside my house. While I can barely hear them when standing outside my house, I can hear them from 50 feet away from my MH as plain as day. RV's do not have as much insulation as a house, so they will not have any sound deadening characteristics.

That having been said, it will also depend on what instruments you play. I played woodwinds, primarily sax, so that wouldn't work at all, just like brass instruments. But if you play a soft acoustic guitar, you might get by with it.

So you're saying it's like not even having walls? ;)