Shooting fireworks with DSLR - Let's compare shots and notes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MN Blue Skies

Site Team
I'm primarily a portraiture photographer but tonight I?m going to try my hand at shooting fireworks for the first time.  Here?s my plan:

-  Use a tripod and remote shutter release.

-  Lens: 18-135 (Other lenses in camera bag.)

-  Starting point for camera settings:  Manual mode, manual focus, flash and image stabilization off, auto white balance, ISO 100,  f/11, 4 second.  Experiment after that.  Try slower shutter speed (or try bulb mode), different aperture (f/16 or f/8), change focal length, frame differently, etc.

-  Hopefully arrive early so that we can scope out the location and identify possible geographical or structural elements that can be  incorporated in the images. 

-  Capture the early bursts of fireworks because they will be the cleanest shots. Subsequent bursts usually leave smoke in the sky.

-  Take a flashlight to see camera dials and settings.

Check out Mark Wallace's video on how to shoot fireworks:  https://lensvid.com/technique/8-tips-for-shooting-fireworks

I would love to see fireworks images of other DSLR users and compare notes on what camera settings and lenses worked or didn't work.

No fireworks for me this year as the area has banned them due to extreme fire danger here in Montana - however below is from a couple years ago and follows right along your guidelines.

• Tripod with remote - Olympus E-30 DSLR - 14-54 lens
  • wide angle lens 14mm (28mm in 35 world)
  • F-22
  • 4 second exposure
  • manual focus
  • ISO 200
It was a beautiful night in Haines Alaska....

Jim

Attachments

• P7057736Rev1LoLoLo.jpg
    P7057736Rev1LoLoLo.jpg
    129.6 KB · Views: 65