Looking to be a fulltimer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kstav85

I am 30 years old, Army Vet and live back at home with the folks. I am also a grad student with about a year left and have two mini schnauzers. I am looking to get out of my folks house and, thinking about becoming a fulltimer which just lets me just get my own space again. I have friends who have done it before but they are also a bit older.  I am looking to get info. I am doing some research into hook up areas near me and looking at different RVs. I would prefer to have a bed that stays down, mainly so my dogs can continue sleeping with me.  If I get one with a cab bed, I can either use it for guests or storage when parked. I am pursuing my masters in history but do plan to apply for the forest service so it would be helpful and easy for me to get to a new job if needed.  I do live in Southern California but have never been a city person.  I believe if I looked into full time rv living it would give me my own space again, I can park in a campground area which lets me be in a more desired area and I am already considering tiny house living...so this fits that as well. any information regarding full timing, dogs, people who have done something similar, or anything in general is greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

You might want to look at an older used travel trailer.  They can be had very inexpensively and even a larger one 30+ feet will have ample room for you and the dogs + company.  If you find that it is not all you expected, older ones keep their value and you can sell it probably for almost what you paid for it. 

My wife and I bought an older 32' for $3400 used it for 6 months and up graded to a much newer and nicer and sold the old one and recovered all the money we spent on it.

Just a thought.