beginner truck camper/buyer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chris mayer

Hello to all, my wife and I are looking to buy a camper for my  [  Chevy Silverado Quad cab long BED 2500 HD.]  I live in the northern California region and looking for any advice on good campers. I have heard that Lance, Bigfoot, and Arctic are some of the top ones, but I'm not sure if I should buy a new are used. If I buy used what am I looking for don't know much about them, thanks for any support I can get out there and this is my first time to the site. Thank you !!

chris mayer said:
Hello to all, my wife and I are looking to buy a camper for my  [  Chevy Silverado Quad cab long BED 2500 HD.]  I live in the northern California region and looking for any advice on good campers. I have heard that Lance, Bigfoot, and Arctic are some of the top ones, but I'm not sure if I should buy a new are used. If I buy used what am I looking for don't know much about them, thanks for any support I can get out there and this is my first time to the site. Thank you !!

New vs used is all about the money. If you have the resources to buy new, then by all means do it.

Buying used is a crap shoot day in and day out. Sometimes you get a gem and sometimes you get slammed with problems.

Look at the base of the camper (the part that rests in the truck bed)....wood in good shape or dinged up.
Frame material.....wood or welded aluminum. Looks and feels solid.
Cabinetry drawers and doors work smoothly and hold solid. Entry door closes firm and tight vs sloppy and unsecure. Screen material in good shape. All keys work in their respective slots.
All appliances in good working order......electrical system fully functional. House batteries newer or old corroded piles of junk.
Flooring in good shape and clean. Step around the floor firmly and see if there are any soft spots.