best travel trailer tires

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jimmy87903

I need to know expert advice on rv trailer tires.I have read maxxis is the only way to go,and I know from keeping up with this site the maxxis tire is the best tire by far,but by owners of the maxxis how is it on dry rotting from sitting?I am a truck driver I do get a ample amount of off time.But my rv sits a good bit a year,my local tire dealer has a 6 ply tire that is a good quality tire for the money for a rv.The maxxis is more expensive which is not a problem but I am wondering how the hold up is on detoriation and dry rot from sitting? I am just wanting to get the best bang for my buck on tires so is it maxxis or can I go a cheaper route? I will probably pull my rv under 1500 miles a year,any and all advice is appreciated,thx and have a good day.

More important than brand is the care that the tires receive.  Proper inflation (and checking often) and avoiding overheated rubber are the best ways to maintain any RV tire, trailers included.  Add regular use to that as well... tires that sit still for months/years at a time will not have the rubber chemicals circulated, which help to keep the rubber flexible and prevent dry rot.  Some folks don't like the idea of Chinese-manufactured tires, others use them regularly and have had no problems.  It's mostly about maintenance, and 7-8 years is about the most you should safely expect out of any RV tire.

I just bought Maxxis tires.  We have had blowouts the past two years with Carlisle.  They were only 4 years old.  One blowout ripped about a 6 to 8 foot section out of the bottom of my trailer.  Actually, that tire didn't even blow.  The tread came off and held on one end and acted as a saw to saw through the bottom of our trailer.  We were just broken after that.  $7000 worth of damage.