new chassis battery problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

adiehl

Hi everyone!

First, I'm a newbie--now living full-time in a 2006 Tiffin Allegro Bus with husband and dog since the end of April this year.

I'll save you a longer story by saying that I did not know the chassis batteries were not kept charged with the inverter or other means and they went dead in about 8 weeks (bought, drove bus on 4/26 to our long-term parking spot; dead by 6/23). Due to their age, I had them replaced.

Between the time they were replaced to this past weekend (a period of only one month), we started the bus and ran the engine for 30 minutes. It didn't turn over very quickly. I was worried it wouldn't start at all.

So, all that for my three questions:

1. Does that seem right to you folks out there? It's only been one month with brand new batteries and already the bus is hard to start? Even with a hefty trip in between (we took a long weekend which required 8 hours of driving, in total)? Is it possible they were not installed correctly?

2. I have purchased a Trik-L-Start and am figuring out how to install that. Can anyone please help provide specifics that has a 2006 Allegro Bus (or similar)? I have the general idea and believe the right solenoid is in the compartment behind the inverter, near the engine, but which one is the right one? And which post is for the chassis battery versus house battery?

3. Do you have recommendations regarding what meter to purchase to measure the batteries, etc.? And also any books, online resources I can read to educate myself in this area?

So much to learn! Thanks in advance for reading and your help!  :)

Hi and welcome to The RV Forum and the RV lifestyle!