Did I get lied to?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jimdamedic

Brand new to the board. We are an experienced pop up camping couple but absolute newbies at 5th wheel camping. We have a 2013 Dodge 1500 with a 5.7 V8 crew cab and short box. We went camper shopping and told the salesman what we used as a tow vehicle. He put us into a 2016 Keystone Cougar XLite 27RKS with a dry weight rating of 7045 and a hitch weight of 1230. I thought this compared well with our max tow weight of 8600 and payload of 1450. Reading this board, not so sure now. Seems a consensus is the 3/4 ton is the way to go, even with GVWR of 6800 and GCWR OF 14150. The weight of the truck with a full tank of fuel, wife and I, and two dogs is about 5500.

We brought it home and I think it rolls ok, but was driving sub speed limit with no winds. Is there anything I can add as an aftermarket item that can give me a little more towing cushion, am I ok now?  For what it's worth, I live in Iowa and we camp within 100 miles of our little house on the prairie, and will for the lifespan of this truck. We will always tow the trailer without water as the campgrounds we use are full hookups.

I love the truck and love the trailer and really don't want to get rid of either, but I also don't want to drive into a ditch. Thanks for all the opinions and answers in advance.

The weight police on the forum will be all over you. If it were me, for the short trips on flat roads, I would not be afraid of it. If the truck squats too much, add air bags.

Use and enjoy both.

Yea, you we fed a hugh line of BS!  Remember, salesmen want one thing, your money.
Once you get family in the truck and the fiver loaded with a weekends worth of food and stuff and drive across a set of scales you will understand the term, OVERLOADED!!!!