Replacing a fridge with mini fridge

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bigbluefan02

Ok I am new to the RV world and about a year ago just purchased a 1989 Coachmen and my fridge needs to be replaced (the company that does some work on my RV has said the fridge doesn't get below 50 degrees). SO my question is can I replace this fridge with just a mini fridge? As I was reading on other forums they are talking about 6 batteries and amps and this is stuff that is new to me so I am reaching out to you all for some input.

What brand and model do you have? Knowing that information, others may have some trouble shootings ideas for you to try before you junk it. It may be something simple.  Don't give up just yet.

bigbluefan02 said:
SO my question is can I replace this fridge with just a mini fridge? As I was reading on other forums they are talking about 6 batteries and amps and this is stuff that is new to me so I am reaching out to you all for some input.

To answer your original question, probably they were talking about whether your house batteries (not the coach batteries which starts your engine) were sufficient size with an inverter (if you have one) or a generator (if you have one) that could keep the mini fridge running.

Do you know if you have an inverter or generator on your rig?

Skyking I have a generator and that isn't working the best as of right now. I had a RV repair place tell me that I needed a new control panel and paid for it and it still doesn't work well. I've debated on getting a generator to hook up to the back when I use the rv or I am possibly looking for them to rebuild the generator I honestly don't know just yet.  But I am going into with the worst possible scenario thinking the only time i would use this fridge is when I am at camp site with electric. Does any of that make sense?