Internet Access article in the Library

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ShepFam

Hi all.  I'm totally new to RVing and all of this.  We're still in the phase of deciding how it will work so we're a little ways off.  I joined your forums today to learn more about what's available and to learn from the collective wisdom of all of you. 

That said, I'm a computer consultant who travels a lot for work.  We've moved 15 times in 17 years of marriage, some times multiple times within a single year.  We are seriously considering going full time in a fifth wheel so I can always be near my family.  What I'll need, however, is reliable high-speed internet access for when I work from home.  I'm just started logging our internet traffic in our home (where it's unrestricted and "free") to see how much we use on average.  I look at the 20gb limits and 500ms latency of the satellite route and cringe, and the cost-prohibitive options via mifi based on overall traffic scares me. 

This brings me to my point.  While I weigh all the things I've read in multiple places, I read the articles listed on the library and it's woefully out of date.  Cingular closed as a company in 2007, no one supports unlimited data anymore, and from what I understand, the companies offering satellite service are dwindling (linky).  I'd offer to fix it myself but I'm still a newbie, and I see a ton of the same questions getting asked.  Can someone with some know-how revise that?  I know that I would have been greatly helped by that and if I would have been, so will others.

Thank you.  :)

The key word there is traveling. If you want to travel and use a lot of bandwidth it will cost you plenty. Your best bet is a more permanent site since hard wired Internet is dirt cheap and unlimited by comparison. Then do your traveling by car and motel.