2012 F150 Supercrew 4x4, 3.55 axle ratio towing capacity 3.5L ecoboost

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

storkbud

Hi,

I'm new to this -- haven't really towed much of anything yet, and just in the "investigation phase".  I want to figure out maximum trailer or 5th wheel I'll be able to tow, and then, what you all experts think is a safe level below the maximum to purchase, because I'm assuming I don't want to be right at or near the maximum load.  If there is a place to find this info out, please point me there.

Any other information needed to figure out the towing load ? 

Also, I know on an old truck I owned, I had a trailer package that boosted the weight you could tow -- it was a chevy, but how would I know if my current truck had a larger towing boost -- my truck does have the trailer brake control already...which is what made me wonder if it could possibly have the heavier towing capability -- I'm guessing no, as my old truck that had this had a 3.73 axle ratio, but don't just want to assume.  I'm thinking it's in the 8,000 range as towable.

So, if it were 8,000 what is a "safe" trailer weight to consider ?

Any help would be appreciated.

Yeap, the Ford Towing Guides for all recent years are online - see http://www.fleet.ford.com/towing-guides/

Get idea to learn the numbers and get educated before you start shopping.

Thank you!  That is a helpful link  :)

Ok, so based on the brochure, my Maximum loaded trailer weight is 9,600.  Now, that leads me to my next question.  What kind of weight will I add to an unloaded Trailer, -- obviously, this is going to vary by each situation and size, but say I'm looking at a 33 foot trailer, what kind of weight do you think I'll add to it ? Is 500 lbs a good estimate ?