Rv Travel Log

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

golffan

What are you using for a RV travel log to keep track of expenses, campgrounds, fuel, etc.? Nice to keep a record of some kind to review different trips. I have always written everything down in a notebook in the past.

I would say a simple yellow tablet or journal... This weekend is our inaugural trip to the Frio River....  Let's see what the wife plans on doing.... She is OCD about stuff like this...

Albert

We just use a journal to log purchases and repairs but I'm not particularly concerned about cost analysis. If I were, I'd use a spreadsheet to keep track.

Ernie

Not RV exactly... but...
For years, I used to use software such as quicken and MS Money to track everything I spent. (I'm an engineer and like data)

I could tell you within maybe $100 or so where every cent went over a 1 year period.

After doing this for several years, I concluded that it was a huge amount of work to collect a bunch of data that I rarely used.
yes, I must be dense as it took me so long to figure out :eek:

Anyway, my point is this
Unless you have some specific reason like taxes, I suggest you forget tracking it.  you'll be happier.  Just enjoy the trip.

I will add this.....
I have been tracking fuel usage and generator time using google sheets
just to get an idea of MPG and generator usage....
but I'll probably stop doing that soon (see my previous post).  I have a year's worth of data so I guess I have a pretty good idea now....

I like the stuff on google drive (sheets & docs).  It's easy to get at from my phone or any computer.  It syncs nicely with no effort

I also sat down one day and made a map on google maps, putting a pin every place we've stayed in the RV overnight.  Kinda fun to look at.  I'll probably keep this up.