TT rebuild - exterior skin choices

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Taycodog

Hi,
      I'm new to the sight and new to rv'ing as well.. So here goes, I bought an old trailer 14 ft. and intend to strip it down to the frame and do a complete rebuild inside and out. I am a cabinet maker by trade and renovate for a living so I'm not afraid to take on the project. I have decided to build the frame from 2x2 lumber and glue and screw 1/4 " plywood to that, this is where it gets tricky , I was hoping I could use FRP material (4x8 sheets rough pattern on one side) and the appropriate glue to attach to my walls which I will build flat on the ground and instal after all cutouts are done. Does anyone know if the panels can take all the bashing around some roads give and what about expansion, there are strips that come with the material for joining the sheets and corner pieces for ends..I will use vinyl wrapped paneling to finish inside and it uses the same system, I'll glue it on to the foam insulation and framing as well. Any help would really be appreciated as this is something I'd really like to try. I've looked at using new aluminum but where I am (canada eh!) they want $8 a sq. Ft. Which shocked the heck out of me, and that's ridiculous. I am likely to use the same system to seal the outside corners as most companies use and the roof will be rubber glue down. I'll post pictures as I go for anyone that may be interested. Thanks in advance. T

I'm in the same boat trying to figure out my exterior skin choices that won't rob the bank. I can tell you FRP is amazing stuff... on the inside. It's only downfall is the sun. It will oxidize and fade. Then become brittle and crack. Out of sun it will look good for decades. I've used it in a couple commercial kitchens. I haven't used it in maybe 10 years so they might have an outdoor version you can use today.