Putting my RV into Rental Fleet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kevperro

I'm new here and new as an RVer.    I have rented a few units over the last couple years and I used to drive a tractor trailer so I'm not a newbie at driving with trailers and weights.  I've scaled my tow vehicle wet, all passengers and axle weights.  I understand all my limits and I'm within all allowable parameters once I have a load leveling/sway control system.    I only have 1000lbs of extra cargo capacity (after accounting for water, fuel, propane, batteries) but I'm not full-timing.  We limit the kids to one backpack of stuff on every vacation. 

We are in the process of buying a Keystone 272BHSWE (bunk-house) which I'm planning on putting into a rental fleet.  I won't use an RV enough to justify it sitting in my driveway (or storage) so I ran the numbers on putting it into the rental fleet.  I'd keep it in there for about 3-years and then flip it or just park it in my driveway.  I expect rental service will be hard on it but I'd rather have a well used trailer for less financial pain than a pristine one that cost me an arm and a leg. 

Has anyone here done something like this?    Any words of wisdom would be welcome before I commit.

Attachments

• floorplan.png
    floorplan.png
    215.9 KB · Views: 64
  • Specs.png
    Specs.png
    20.1 KB · Views: 33
Yes, don't do it. I doubt it would last three years !!!!! I have rented RV's in the States and I was not impressed at the way they had been presented to me, and therefore what people had done to them to get them in that state.  :eek: