I Need MORE Advice from Experienced RVers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

aminton

I have been dreaming about RVing full time for twenty-five years. Now, I am 68, widowed, active, and find myself hundreds of miles away from my five children and eight grandchildren-- in a condo I hate. I want to sell the condo and buy (as in pay cash) for a Class B RV, and begin RVing full-time. Currently, I am considering a nearly-new Airstream, Pleasure Way, or Winnebago because of high quality in craftsmanship and automotive engineering. Dependability is important. I would prefer not to add the fear of breaking down to my other concerns, although I am perfectly capable of handling myself in an emergency situation.  With my fixed income, RVing full time is the only way I can possibly afford to visit my family and, at this stage in my life, I need to see my grandchildren more than once every three or four years. My problem is a lot like that of others thinking about full timing. How much will it cost? I realize RVing will not be cheaper than living in this condo, but I will have the advantage of being able to travel when I feel like it, staying put when I want to rest, visiting Civil War sites (another dream of mine), and visiting my family without it being a big deal. I have tried to look at costs of full timing like gasoline, propane, RV park daily rates, RV park monthly rates associated with RVing full time, but it is impossible to set up a monthly budget based on unknowns. I end up plugging in the highest estimates in every category, making the cost prohibitive.