New to TT's trying to winterize

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

88Layton20

Hey guys,

My wife and I just bought an 88 Layton travel trailer and i'm new to all of this. I'm having trouble getting anti-freeze through the hot water lines but let me start with a little back story on the water heater.

I found out shortly after we purchased it, that the cold line to the water heater was unhooked. After hooking it, I realized that the water heater was leaking like crazy from the pressure release valve on the outside of the trailer. We wanted to get out and camp quickly, so I just plugged the cold line at the water heater until I could get around to fixing it. Everything was fine and the water was running like normal out of the could side. Obviously the hot sides of the faucets weren't working right now because of having the water heater unhooked.

Now, I went and installed a water heater bypass and figured I would fill the hot lines with anti-freeze even though there weren't used this season. I installed the kit which came with two valves and a hose that goes in between them to bypass the water heater. Installation seemed straight forward so I thought all would be good. I started pumping anti-freeze through the lines and it was coming out of the cold faucets but not the hot. I went outside to check the water heater and sure enough anti-freeze is leaking out of some little valve at the bottom of the water heater with what looks almost like a wing nut threaded on to it. I triple checked to make sure the valves were in the bypass position but I can't think of anything else that would cause this. It seems to me that the valves are the only thing in this process that could malfunction. Any ideas? Am I just making some sort of newbie mistake? Thanks in advance!