LED TV powered from a deep cycle battery...is it possible?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ldeleiss

So I was able to pick up a couple of 24" flat screen LED TVs for a great price.  I noticed they have a plug for the wall similar to that of other electronics and took a good look at it.  Now I am not an electrician so maybe someone else can explain this but it seems like this plug pulls 120v from the wall to deliver 12v to the TV itself and if I am reading it right draws 3 amps to power the TV.  If this is actually the case, can the TV be directly wired to a deep cycle battery and work?  I took a pic of the plug for reference.  Any explanation would be appreciated, thanks!

Attachments

• 20151202_220225-1.jpg
    20151202_220225-1.jpg
    207.8 KB · Views: 91
Be aware that rv's voltages can go as high as 14.8 when charging the batteries and as high as 15.5 when equalizing the batteries depending on what charger you have installed.

Well three answers.

NO:  Unless it says 12V on that inlet (or lists 12 volt as the OUTPUT on the power adapter) the voltage could be something else

Perhaps: Generally it is 12 volt, and can accept anything from 9 (sometimes less) to around 14 w/o problems BUT Motor home/Trailer systems sometimes excceed 14 volts (Boost mode can do that, so cna absorption, and Equalization).

YES: If you are boondocking and not running the generator  12.6 volt will not be a problem.  and in some cases (MY Samsung for example) the inlet is labeled 14 volt and can again likely take as low as 9-10 volts (never tested) up to around 16 or 17 (WHich covers all possible voltages in my RV's system) without damage.

MOST wall-wart/power bricks can be kind of scary if you meter them no load. Like 18 volts ona  12 volt brick.

Thank you for all the helpful info.  I will post up after installing the tv and giving it a try.