Upgrade/ remodel questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Martine

Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new here and still new to RV'ing and have lots of questions to benefit from your wisdom.  My name is Martine, and I am an LA resident, though moving in a month to SFO Bay area.  I will be living in my RV indefinitely with my black cat and white poodle till I find work and a residence.  Fortunately, my pets are pretty compact for an RV, unlike the German Shepherds I used to have.  My rig is a 1997 Class C 22.6 ft Tioga Montara Ford E350 V10 gas engine, with only 35K miles on it.  I decided one day to start emptying my bucket list.  An RV was something I had dreamed about as a kid.  To be able to travel with my pets, and have my own space pre-configured exactly as I wanted sounded wonderful.  It has finally been realized, so I am very happy to be part of your community!

I embarked on a mission to remodel this rig.  I eventually want a Class A, but for now, the small size lets me get into the heart of SFO to visit my toddler niece and nephew and park on the street easily.  If I can drive it in SFO, no problem elsewhere!  Hence the tiny rig, which to me at the time of purchase 2 years ago, seemed enormous.  I was new to RV'ing, and driving such a 'monster car' was terrifying.  It took a while to break myself into driving relatively stress free.  I did not have a backup camera but will install one this month. I have repainted every inch of the interior with bright colors, yanked out dinette and sofa bed, installed a chaise lounge and dresser, tiled the bathroom (yes this can be done with no issue whatsoever!), stripped off all decals, and will be replacing old carpet with an engineered wood (real wood) floor soon.  I have many tips I can share about remodeling which will all go into a blog some time later.