Basement Storage Height

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wthensler

Hello Everyone,

I'm a complete newbie and don't even own an RV yet, but I'm thinking of a Class A DP, something in the low to mid 30 foot range since it's only my wife and me (and our two parrots).

Here's the rub:  I'd like to be able to bring my dobsonian telescope with us so we can enjoy the dark sites out west.  The scope breaks down into pieces, but the largest piece is still 31.5" high x 33" width.

Are there possibilities to store this in the basement?  I haven't been able to measure door heights, but they all look to be smaller than the scope height.  Do storage heights vary with RV size or manufacturer?

Or do I bite the bullet and content myself with toting the largest scope that'll fit into a standard compartment?

Thank you.

Our 2000 Newmar Mountain Aire has a storage out side of the frame rails that will accommodate that size.

Attachments

• storage 4.jpg
    storage 4.jpg
    217.9 KB · Views: 62
Hmmmmm, this last pic looks promising.  :)

I wonder if this feature is specific to the Newmar?  Is this from a mid 30's Class A?

Tom/Barb said:
Our 2000 Newmar Mountain Aire has a storage out side of the frame rails that will accommodate that size.

OMG (as my daughters would say), my basement hasn't been that empty since the day I bought my coach. I too could carry the telescope, but then I'd have to get rid of the full size Weber kettle.  ::)

Sun2Retire said:
OMG (as my daughters would say), my basement hasn't been that empty since the day I bought my coach. I too could carry the telescope, but then I'd have to get rid of the full size Weber kettle.  ::)