Family Vacation Out West

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brookeknight

Hello all,

I am new to RV forums, and any forums. My dad just purchased a 45ft Tuscany and he, my stepmom, myself (age 20) and my boyfriend are wanting to take a trip sometime after May. We want to go for about 4 weeks out West and see things such as grand canyon, redwoods, and other sites. we love the outdoors and want to be able to relax some.

I appreciate any advice on how to plan the trip, what to see, etc.

Thank you all

4 weeks is a decent amount of time...but many folks here will tell you...that's about enough to get to and see one or two places...

What's your starting point? Consider that driving a motorhome across country is different than taking the family car. It will be difficult at best to make the kind of mileage daily that will allow you to go from coast-to-coast in just a couple of days. Just driving time will be about a week each direction (and that's still driving pretty hard). That cuts your actual vacation down to 2 weeks. Yellowstone should have several days to properly enjoy...there's just SO MUCH to see. IMO, the Grand Canyon itself is a  couple of hour visit...but, of course, there's lots of other things to do there. We spent 5 days last summer in the Redwoods of NorCal...and still missed a lot of things while we were there.
Mind you, I'm not saying what you're planning is impossible...just that it will be difficult to cram in as much as you'd like. (of course, a lot depends on where you're starting from.)