Can I pull that 5W???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bdaun

Hi.  Complete novice newbie... and I have the confusion to prove it.  I have a 2015 GMC 2500HD Diesel Crew Cab.  GMC documentation says I can hitch tow 13K and 5w tow 17,100.  GMC documentation also says "Fifth-wheel or gooseneck kingpin weight should be 15 percent to 25 percent of trailer weight up to 3000 lbs maximum".  I "think" I  understand all of that.  What I don't understand is the B pillar sticker that says max cargo is 2,240lbs.    Does that mean the max KingPin weight is 2240 (and that would be w/o people or any 'stuff' in the truck)???? 

I'm looking at a 2013 Keystone Avalanche 345TG with ShippingWt: 11421, CargoWt: 2719, and HitchWt: 2140.  Can I pull this legally and safely with my truck?

Thanks in advance!!

That Avalanche is a nice camper, but it is WAY too much for your truck.

First, the GMC documentation is based on a base model with few options, no passengers or cargo.

The B pillar sticker is specific to your truck.  The absolute most weight your truck can carry is 2,240#. Period.  That limit includes all weight.
The pin wt, after adding your gear, will be closer to 2400# - 2500#.  Including a hitch, you are 400# overweight before you even get in the truck.

Add up the weight of all passengers, pets and cargo in the truck. Add 200# for the hitch.  Subtract all of this from 2,240# max cargo wt.  That is your MAX PIN WT.

If you, your wife and truck cargo weigh only 500#, your max pin wt of the LOADED 5er is 1540#.  At 20% pin wt, that is a GVWR on the 5er of 7700#.

There are lots of people pulling 5ers this size and larger with 2500 CC pickups..  They appear to have no trouble.  If they are ever in an accident, regardless of fault, they likely will lose their shirt for being GROSSLY overloaded.