Renting an RV for our first trip - would you mind answering some questions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

1osfan

My family is renting an RV this summer and taking our first RV trip. It will be a rather long trip - both by time and mileage. I have spent many years thinking about this trip - the route we would take, the sites we want to see, etc. Now that the trip is imminent, we have realized that there is one part of the trip that concerns us - the RV! We've never spent the night in one. Every time I turn around, I think of more questions and seem to have fewer answers. I found this site last summer and I have learned so much from it. Now, I'm hoping maybe you guys would be willing to help out some complete newbies. Thank you very much in advance.

First, here is what I know. We are renting a 30' class C from Cruise America. According to the details they list online, it has a 55-gallon fuel tank, 9.5-gallon LP gas tank, 37-gallon fresh water tank, 6-gallon water heater tank, 24-gallon sewage tank, and 20-gallon grey water tank. We are a family of five - two adults and three children (13,9,5). The rental agreement has a daily rate plus mileage and it costs $3.50 per hour to use the generator. My biggest questions are simply technical.

1. Do I understand correctly that an RV is basically divided in two when it comes to power - the front is powered by the engine like an automobile but the back is powered differently? So, the outlets in the back, the microwave, and the roof air conditioner will not work unless I run the generator or am hooked up to an external power source? My first concern is being able to keep electronics like our phones and cameras charged.