EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products PO Box Zone
Over The Network Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Need More Amperage  (Read 4112 times)

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Need More Amperage
« on: May 06, 2016, 12:37:59 PM »
Greetings everyone!
I am new here with a specific problem i need some help with.
I live alone in a 32' fifth-wheel RV. It is 30 amp. I need more power Scotty!.
My question:

If I were to relocate to a 50 amp spot, is there some type of adapter/splitter that would enable me to run 30 amps to the RV and the other 15 or 20 amps to a separate, heave gauge power cord I can run inside and plug power strips into or even hard-wire some outlets?

Other options?
Thanx gang!

Mike

Ned

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 25574
  • Ned and Lorna are former full time RVers
    • Have you seen Rolling Stock?
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2016, 01:28:57 PM »
Since most campsites have a 20A outlet in addition to the 30 and or 50A outlets, you could just into that. I wouldn't connect an extension cord to one leg of the 50A service unless it was of big enough gauge to handle the possible loads.
-- Ned -- Fulltimer 1997-2013
1997 Holiday Rambler Endeavor LE
2007 GMC Canyon

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2016, 03:42:10 PM »
Well, I am in an RV park rather than a campsite that does not have that. I have a single 30A receptacle on the pole. I understand to use a 12 gauge cord of minimum length. question is, do they make a Y-Splitter cable or something that will allow me to do that if i were to move to a 50A lot.

Happy Prospector

  • ---
  • Posts: 357
  • RV'ing The Great American Southwest aka-Quartzsite
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2016, 04:02:13 PM »
What could possibly go wrong here? Are you up to date on you fire insurance?



The information is out there, all you have to do is let it in.
Kevin, Lifetime NRA Member
Retired, Fulltime RV'er
1999.5 F350 4X4 CC Diesel Flatbed
2007 Alpenlite Defender Toyhauler
920 Watt of Solar
2007 Yamaha Grizzly 700
Bob, The Yorkie Terrier, Helping me
prospect for gold till the money runs out

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2016, 04:53:53 PM »
are you an electrician or a naysayer?

Sun2Retire

  • Photo moderator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 1826
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2016, 05:16:49 PM »
is there some type of adapter/splitter that would enable me to run 30 amps to the RV and the other 15 or 20 amps to a separate, heave gauge power cord I can run inside and plug power strips into or even hard-wire some outlets?

Like this?

http://amazon.com/Conntek-Adatper-Female-Connector-3-Feet/dp/B002MGSNNQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1462572946&sr=8-1&keywords=50+amp+splitter+rv
Scott
2005 Newmar Dutch Star 3810, Spartan, Cat C7 350 "OURVEE"
Eezrv TPMS, VMSpc, 800W Solar
2002 Dodge RAM 1500 Quad Cab "RTOAD"
Stowmaster towbar & Brakemaster

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 10631
  • Everything I state is my opinion.
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2016, 05:18:16 PM »
...or even hard-wire some outlets?
As an electrician I choke when I read this. Back feeding is stupid, dangerous and against the code.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Life list of birds:
https://goo.gl/photos/xuP9zPD2KP2swN1g8
2016 photos:
https://goo.gl/photos/aXQPbnVpgzNvs4Jq8
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2016, 05:50:47 PM »
YES!!! That amazon cord. Many thanks guy!
They are proud of it too @ $129.

Mr electrician, i don't know what 'back feeding' is. how about if I were to just attach a single power strip to the 15A end of this via a short run of 12 gauge extension cord? no hard-wiring outlets if that is back feeding. i won't do that if its dangerous.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2016, 05:52:28 PM by Mike1964 »

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 10631
  • Everything I state is my opinion.
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2016, 06:39:50 PM »
YES!!! That amazon cord. Many thanks guy!
They are proud of it too @ $129.

Mr electrician, i don't know what 'back feeding' is. how about if I were to just attach a single power strip to the 15A end of this via a short run of 12 gauge extension cord? no hard-wiring outlets if that is back feeding. i won't do that if its dangerous.
Back feeding is plugging a 110 volt line into existing outlets or hard wiring to existing outlets in an existing structure. In other words you have some outlets that are not being powered by the main power source so you plug directly into the outlet and bypass the breaker box. Then someone comes along to work on it, kills the power at the breaker box and kills himself when he grabs a hold of wires he did not know were hot.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Life list of birds:
https://goo.gl/photos/xuP9zPD2KP2swN1g8
2016 photos:
https://goo.gl/photos/aXQPbnVpgzNvs4Jq8
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2016, 07:27:05 PM »
still unsure i fully understand that. Just shut off the 50 amp breaker and kill all power. you mean if someone tried to turn off the individual breaker inside the rv and what he was working on was not on that breaker?  no matter, no danger of anyone working on it without my knowledge.

What about using that adapter (link above), run a 12 gauge cord off it and plug a single power strip into it.  I will not daisy chain 'em together... just one. would that work and be safe?

I appreciate your help. was hoping an electrician would chime in.  thank you.

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 19617
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2016, 07:27:44 PM »
Yes there is but you do not (normlly) need it

The 50 amp box will have 3 outlets, 50/30/20  So the adapter you most likely need IS the box you plug into.

In fact most 30 amp sites also have a 20 amp outlet.. IN SOME CASES THIS IS NOT TRUE, and in some cases there is an up-line 30 amp breaker so if you try you loose.. but more than a few folks run two cords and use both the 30 and 20 amp breakers.. I am set up to do this via two different power "inlets" on my 50 amp RV when on a 30 amp site.. in fact I have 3 ways to do it but the "Adapter" method... Does not often work.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 10631
  • Everything I state is my opinion.
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2016, 07:34:00 PM »
still unsure i fully understand that. Just shut off the 50 amp breaker and kill all power. you mean if someone tried to turn off the individual breaker inside the rv and what he was working on was not on that breaker?  no matter, no danger of anyone working on it without my knowledge.

What about using that adapter (link above), run a 12 gauge cord off it and plug a single power strip into it.  I will not daisy chain 'em together... just one. would that work and be safe?

I appreciate your help. was hoping an electrician would chime in.  thank you.
Basically the breakers in the breaker panel are not the breakers used to kill the electricity once it has been back fed. You can daisy chain the power strips, that would not be an issue. What you need to do is not plug too much stuff into the power strips. Tell me more about your problem specifically and I will give you my ideas on how to solve it.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Life list of birds:
https://goo.gl/photos/xuP9zPD2KP2swN1g8
2016 photos:
https://goo.gl/photos/aXQPbnVpgzNvs4Jq8
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2016, 07:43:54 PM »
I am plugged into a pole with a single 30A receptacle that the RV plugs into. 2 lots over is the pole with my 30A breaker on it which i am constantly tripping. Park owner replaced the breaker in case it was weak but still tripping it (upstream breaker?) and then there is the main box where 4, 30A trailers are connected to a 100A breaker. Guess they are counting on everyone not running everything at once.

I will have to find out which lots are 50A and go take a look at the pole for additional outlets. that would be great!

Would limiting it to 10A of stuff plugged in be ok? how much overhead is recommended?

« Last Edit: May 06, 2016, 07:47:08 PM by Mike1964 »

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 10631
  • Everything I state is my opinion.
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2016, 07:45:33 PM »
What are you running in your RV to cause it to trip? It is hard to use 30 amps all at once.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Life list of birds:
https://goo.gl/photos/xuP9zPD2KP2swN1g8
2016 photos:
https://goo.gl/photos/aXQPbnVpgzNvs4Jq8
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2016, 07:52:46 PM »
computers, laser printers, office stuff, cooktop, coffee pot stays on all the time and is 900W alone! 900W / 120V = 7.5A !!! but thats just it. seems like everything i plug in, is on a single 15A "utility" breaker. there is one for the microwave, water heater... also, it was cold and space heaters are 1500W (12.5A ea.)

But I am tripping the pole (30A) also.
Oh, and i have a portable a/c unit also. unsure of power requirement.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2016, 07:56:49 PM by Mike1964 »

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 10631
  • Everything I state is my opinion.
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2016, 07:58:58 PM »
Your best bet would be to run another heavy cord to a 20 amp breaker and run the a/c on that.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Life list of birds:
https://goo.gl/photos/xuP9zPD2KP2swN1g8
2016 photos:
https://goo.gl/photos/aXQPbnVpgzNvs4Jq8
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2016, 08:03:00 PM »
would that not mean another distribution box? (not cheap am sure), i have no empty breakers or slots.

never mind, i understand. you mean off a pole with multiple outlets?

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 10631
  • Everything I state is my opinion.
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2016, 08:06:57 PM »
Yep, off a pole with separate circuits. Get a 12 gauge or a 10 gauge extension cord to power the A/C and your problem will be solved.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Life list of birds:
https://goo.gl/photos/xuP9zPD2KP2swN1g8
2016 photos:
https://goo.gl/photos/aXQPbnVpgzNvs4Jq8
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2016, 08:10:28 PM »
ok man, thanks again for your help. i will check out the 50A lots and see if they have multi-outlets.


Lou Schneider

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7304
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2016, 08:50:11 PM »
I am plugged into a pole with a single 30A receptacle that the RV plugs into. 2 lots over is the pole with my 30A breaker on it which i am constantly tripping.

This is saying you're limited to using 30 amps from your power pole, no matter what combination of outlets you plug into.

You'll have to change to another site with a 50 amp socket.  If there are also 30 and 20 amp outlets you can use both of those without tripping an upstream breaker.

Quote
computers, laser printers, office stuff, cooktop, coffee pot stays on all the time and is 900W alone! 900W / 120V = 7.5A !!! but thats just it. seems like everything i plug in, is on a single 15A "utility" breaker. there is one for the microwave, water heater... also, it was cold and space heaters are 1500W (12.5A ea.)

But I am tripping the pole (30A) also.
Oh, and i have a portable a/c unit also. unsure of power requirement.

It sounds like you are seriously overloading the electrical wiring inside your trailer.  If you really use all of that stuff you should upgrade your trailer's electrical system to 50 amps.  This means replacing your 30 amp shore power cord and 30 amp breaker panel with 50 amp units, then add more outlets and wiring going to additional 15 or 20 amp breakers.

A 50 amp conversion will give you a total of 100 amps of 120 volt power, since the 50 amp socket has two 50 amp circuits.

Trying to run all of that stuff from a 30 amp breaker panel and a single 15 amp outlet circuit is asking for trouble.  Even running an extra 20 amp extension cord to the power pole will only give you half as much available power as a full 50/50 amp conversion.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2016, 09:07:34 PM by Lou Schneider »

Bobtop46

  • ---
  • Posts: 330
    • Work Camper
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2016, 07:43:54 AM »
Electrical Code Since 2014.

Article 551.71  RV Parks – Type Receptacles Provided. As we know, every recreational vehicle site with electricity supplied to it must have at least one 20-ampere, 125-volt receptacle to supply the RV unit, conforming to the configuration as identified in Figure 551.46(C)(1). At least 20% of these sites must have one 50-ampere 125/250-volt receptacle conforming to the configuration as identified in Figure 551.46(C)(1). This change goes one step further and says that every site supplied with the 50-ampere 125/250-volt receptacle must also be supplied with a 30-ampere, 125-volt receptacle, conforming to the configuration as identified in Figure 551.46(C)(1). This change came about in order to eliminate the various types of “adapters” that have been on the market, which never take into consideration the ampacity of the RV-supply circuit that was being connected. So now if your RV is meant to have a 30-ampere supply, the proper receptacle should be there. And it is also worth mentioning that all125-volt, single-phase, 15- and 20-ampere receptacles shall have GFCI protection; this is not new.
2007 Coachman Aurora 36FWS
2006 Mini Cooper S

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 19617
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #21 on: May 07, 2016, 07:47:44 AM »
Laser printers are power hogs. when the fuser kicks in those puppies draw  a LOT of power.  Feed it via a kill-a-watt and take readings.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

Gary RV_Wizard

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 60355
  • RVer Emeritus
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #22 on: May 07, 2016, 08:08:59 AM »
Quote
It is hard to use 30 amps all at once.

LOL! If only that were true! Many people find it very easy to exceed 30A. When we worked in RV parks, I had to explain the limitations of 30A power to somebody a couple times each week.  Air conditioner, water heater, electric fridge, hair dryer or curling iron, coffee maker, microwave, etc. etc. etc.
Gary
--------------
Gary Brinck
Summers: Black Mountain, NC
Home: Ocala National Forest, FL

Gary RV_Wizard

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 60355
  • RVer Emeritus
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #23 on: May 07, 2016, 08:15:57 AM »
Here is a 50A splitter plug that isn't quite so pricey. You would have to add a 30/15 adapter to one side for the extension cord.

http://www.amazon.com/Conntek-15961-Generator-Adapter-Connector/dp/B0114C9NNW/ref=sr_1_37
http://www.amazon.com/Conntek-Adatper-Female-Connector-3-Feet/dp/B003YDY89Y/ref=sr_1_27
Gary
--------------
Gary Brinck
Summers: Black Mountain, NC
Home: Ocala National Forest, FL

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 19617
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #24 on: May 07, 2016, 10:34:07 AM »
Note: If on a 50 amnp site and you use a standard 30-50 Dogbone... When you try to draw 35 will will trip a breaker, but it will be the one IN your RV so you do not have to go out and reset it, you go in and reset it..

But many folks have Eva Gabore syndrom (From TV show Green Acres, where Oliver labeled everythign and told her "Do not plug in more than # (i think it was six) but she kept plugging in way more and blowing the generator.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

Happy Prospector

  • ---
  • Posts: 357
  • RV'ing The Great American Southwest aka-Quartzsite
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #25 on: May 07, 2016, 11:37:42 AM »
are you an electrician or a naysayer?

Retired Power Lineman with 16 years as a trouble shooter.  I haven't seen it all, but I've seen a lot.
Kevin, Lifetime NRA Member
Retired, Fulltime RV'er
1999.5 F350 4X4 CC Diesel Flatbed
2007 Alpenlite Defender Toyhauler
920 Watt of Solar
2007 Yamaha Grizzly 700
Bob, The Yorkie Terrier, Helping me
prospect for gold till the money runs out

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 19617
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #26 on: May 07, 2016, 07:52:18 PM »
As an electrician I choke when I read this. Back feeding is stupid, dangerous and against the code.

I read that a couple of times before I understood...  Now I will admit I know how to do what the O/P wants to do and do it safely, in fact. I do it safely.. Yes I have a hard wired outlet that runs off a separate 20 amp feed.. It is a 20 amp outlet and has absolutly NOTHING in common with the rest of the RV save the wall it is mounted in,, NO connection between this outlet and the other outlets in the RV,  NO backfeeding,,  In fact the best way to think of this outlet is::::: the outlet end of an extension cord.

For that is what is basically is.. Just hard wire.. Not extension cord.

I have a second one that IS an extension cord end..  And cord,,, And plug,,, As well.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #27 on: May 07, 2016, 09:32:08 PM »
I do it safely.. Yes I have a hard wired outlet that runs off a separate 20 amp feed.. It is a 20 amp outlet and has absolutly NOTHING in common with the rest of the RV save the wall it is mounted in,, NO connection between this outlet and the other outlets in the RV,  NO backfeeding,,  In fact the best way to think of this outlet is::::: the outlet end of an extension cord.

For that is what is basically is.. Just hard wire.. Not extension cord.

I have a second one that IS an extension cord end..  And cord,,, And plug,,, As well.

That is what I am talking about. I am turning the bedroom into an office, well... "office" is a stretch, workspace is more like it, and would like to run the whole sha-bang separate from the rv as described in quote.  I agree with whoever about the laser printer being a power hog... Mine pulls 4 amps.  That damn coffee pot... 7.5A, i just cannot get over it using that much power! My laptops only pull 2.5A each.  I trip the pole almost daily, sometimes multiple times per day.

What i got from that section of code (thank you btw), is that i don't really need to look at a 50A site to know there are multiple outlets. I will go look anyway while seeing what sites are available to choose from.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2016, 09:38:06 PM by Mike1964 »

Gary RV_Wizard

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 60355
  • RVer Emeritus
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #28 on: May 08, 2016, 08:38:12 AM »
Anything with an electric heater in it (coffee pot, laser printer, hair dryer, fridge or water in AC mode, etc) is going to be a power hog. One way you can use the available amps more effectively is to power the fridge and water heater with propane. That will leave a whole bunch of amps for other purposes. The water heater uses 12 amps whenever the thermostat kicks on, and the fridge about 3A.

Your coffee pot probably switches to a warming mode after the brew cycle completes and is probably drawing less than the full 7.5A. Maybe more like 2.0, but that's a guess. If you are curious, buy a Kill-O-Watt and measure the actual consumption. It is not expensive and can be very enlightening!
http://www.amazon.com/P3-P4400-Electricity-Usage-Monitor/dp/B00009MDBU
Gary
--------------
Gary Brinck
Summers: Black Mountain, NC
Home: Ocala National Forest, FL

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #29 on: May 08, 2016, 11:25:16 AM »
Thanks Gary, I had to replace the fridge so it no longer runs on propane but the water heater is a thought.  I currently keep it turned off until i need it but never knew how much power it uses. good to know and i have been planning to get a tank of gas to use for cooking instead of toaster oven (1300W/10.8A) and cooktop (750W/6.25A). I also have one of those NuWave cooktops that is 1800W at full power... I do not even plug that in, can only use it on low settings so i don't use it at all.

Coffee cup warmer, lights, circulation fans.... it all adds up fast.

Gary RV_Wizard

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 60355
  • RVer Emeritus
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #30 on: May 08, 2016, 05:25:46 PM »
Living well electrically (as the old tv ads used to advise) is not really practical on just 30A. What you really need is to upgrade that rig to 50A. You are trying to utilize power like you would in a stick home that typically has 150-200 amps available, but you only have 30.

Using a toaster oven and other high amp heating devices is just plain impractical with that limited amount of power.
Gary
--------------
Gary Brinck
Summers: Black Mountain, NC
Home: Ocala National Forest, FL

Mike1964

  • ---
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need More Amperage
« Reply #31 on: May 09, 2016, 11:30:26 AM »
About how much would it cost to upgrade it to 50A?
I am not a rich man. The VA pays me enuff to live one step above a tent.
  :-\

 

Hosted by Over The Network