12 month road trip

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kenlawdavis

As a complete newbie to rv'ing, I seek advice on the dream my wife and I have of a 12 month road trip around this great country. We would plan on renting out our home in AZ for a year, and ride off into the sunset. We do not yet own either an rv or a truck, just a Subaru Outback. The big question is what to buy. For 12 months full time, I am guessing size does matter. Living in a pop up camper probably won't cut it. It seems that it boils down to a used class A or a fifth wheel and a tow vehicle. The plan would be to sell both at the end of the 12 months. Any thoughts or advice would be most appreciated.

Welcome to the Forum!!

Thanks so much for coming here before your purchase!!!

First, this is YOUR decision, not ours.  We are simply advisors.

Second, the absolutely most important feature is FLOOR PLAN,  FLOOR PLAN,  FLOOR PLAN!!  If you do not both love the floor plan, you will never like the RV.

Third, unless you are independently wealthy, buy used.  There are many gently used MH and FW out there that will serve you well.  When you sell them a year from now, the "cost of ownership" will be much less, compared to new.  If you go for the FW, 1 ton diesel trucks depreciate very little in just one year.

There are several recent threads which should be of interest to you on this topic.

Thanks for the comments which are greatly appreciated. Fortunately, Tucson has an RV show this weekend, so that might be a good place to get a feel for floor plans.