Newbie questions about hard sided folding campers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lakey612

Hi,

I am a newbie and so far I have never owned an RV of any kind.  However, I am leaning towards buying a hardsided folding or "A-frame" camper (ex. Flagstaff, Rockwood, or Aliner), if I can convince my husband, as well as my dad (who will hopefully be contributing some to the purchase, as well as storing the camper for us).  I really would prefer not to have to go through the setup of a traditional popup with tent beds.  And towing even a small and ultra light RV like an R-pod intimidates me.  All of which are reasons that I am leaning towards a hard sided camper, preferably no more than 5-7 years old.

Questions:

1) Most dinette tables in hard sided pop-ups convert to a 44-45 inch wide bed.  We have two boys that are 7 years old and 50 lb each.  Right now I think they would have no problem sharing that sleeping space.  Does anybody here have a A-frame style camper and youngish kids, and if so do you still enjoy your little camper?  I wonder how many years our boys could sleep in that space before they outgrow it?

2) Are such campers sealed up pretty tight when folded down?  Whatever camper we buy will be stored at my dad's and he lives out the country where there are plenty of mice and other critters.  Do you think mice would get inside during the winter?  Are there any steps we could take to try and prevent mice from getting in?

3) Our tow vehicle will be a 2013 Toyota Highlander V6.  It doesn't currently have a tow package though.  But we would eventually get a hitch installed (until then we could borrow my dad's truck to tow it).  Given the lighter weight of these campers, would we just need a regular hitch, or should we get a "weight distribution hitch"?  And is that the same thing as an anti-sway hitch?