Wiring a trailer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thegrillsergeant

I bet this one has been covered 100x. I'm doing a cargo trailer conversion. I'm assuming that with an A/C, microwave, hairdryer, tv ex. I will need to wire it for a 30amp 120v connection. I'm not an electrician and I'll have some professional help but can someone give me a dumbed down but detailed explanation on the wiring.
    For example what would I need to purchase and what connects to what as far as a breaker box, converter? Any advice or other ideas are welcome. Thanks!

There's a lot of things you can skimp on wiring is not one of those things . Call an electrician .

I have a good friend who is an electrician. He will help but I'm trying to gain some knowledge on the subject. This way I can know a little before bugging him too much. Safety is my biggest concern

Being that you are starting fresh on the wiring,  I would suggest going with a 50 amp service. You can always adapt down to 30 amp when necessary.

kdbgoat said:
Being that you are starting fresh on the wiring,  I would suggest going with a 50 amp service. You can always adapt down to 30 amp when necessary.

With 50 Amp service, you'll be able to run pretty much everything you have all at once whereas 30 Amp, you may be restricted a little.

As a retired electrician my advise is to hire an electrician. The National Electrical Code is way to complex to try and explain to someone on the Internet. An electrician is cheaper than a burned down trailer.

SeilerBird said:
As a retired electrician my advise is to hire an electrician. The National Electrical Code is way to complex to try and explain to someone on the Internet. An electrician is cheaper than a burned down trailer.

Along with possible loss of life.