Can my truck handle this camper ? New to campers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Austttin

I have a 2014 sierra 1500 standard 6ft box, I'm planning on buying a camper and found one for a good price however it weighs around 1900lbs. It's a 1978 vanguard. My trucks payload is 1750 I believe. Also I need to drive it about 3000km. If I were to install airbags would that be enough to not destroy my suspension for that trip ? What would be best airbags to install I'm pretty new to this. Thanks for anyone's help.

Well, I don't have any idea about the airbags and also I don't own a trailer. But, I always think that it is somewhat risky to drive a trailer for a very long distance, if the person is not the professional driver. Recently my friend brought his new camper with the help of professional haulers. You can also think of hiring the professional. You can have a peek at these guys.

Just in case everyone didn't catch it, the OP is talking about a truck camper.

You can find the actual payload for your truck on the yellow sticker on the pillar behind the drivers door. If your payload is 1750 and the camper weighs 1900, you're going to be overweight. Air bags and helper springs may help you carry it better, but they don't raise the payload rating of your truck. You must also account for the other weight in the truck such as passengers etc.

I wouldn't recommend doing that. I carry a 1900lb camper that loaded weighs close to 3000lbs, and puts me right at my weight limit. My truck is a 1997 Ford F250 heavy duty. You would be at least 1,000lbs over your limit.

As they said in Jaws "You're gonna need a bigger boat."....or in this case TRUCK.