Slideout awning puddles

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ian H

Probably an age old problem
Sitting here at Myrtle Beach watching the rain come down (just like home) i can see a flood of water blowing off the slideout awnings knowing that the splashes put sand over the side of the RV.Has anyone got a quick fix to stop the puddles in the first place.Being a mechanic i have a few ideas but will have to wait until i get back to the UK and my tools ,might even produce something i could make some money from (looking around most motorhomes have the same problem) and with our climate it would have a good testing ground

Ian

I'll be interested in the responses you get and any ideas you come up with yourself. Our rig definitely wouldn't survive in (not so) sunny South Wales  ;D

If the canopy is tight enough, the water will drain continuously (like the roof) rather than puddle. However, they sometimes are not tight to begin with and usually stretch over time anyway.  Some rigs have a hard, curved surface designed into the top of the slideout and do not use slide toppers.  They are essentially a semi-circle that channels the water  just like a drooping canopy - kind of making a feature out of a problem.

As long as the water runs off in some direction, I'm not convinced there is a problem that needs solving. But if it puddles in the topper and does not run off, there can be some sudden and totally unexpected  deluges when you bring the slide in. 

Smoky havent you seen the motorhome that goes in the water,complete with swim or fishing platform at the rear.But if i dont get this awning problem sorted i am afraid it might get top heavy and topple over on the way home.

Actually i bought it new from Lazydays in Florida and i am now getting quotes for shipping to the UK by RO-RO ship.

Gary