Newbie needs advice on best option for extending Wifi range

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Megaballs

Hey fellow RV'ers!
So I am a bit new to the trailer life and will be moving to a camp ground full time, Im told they have terrible wifi... So any ideas or recommendations on range extenders vs. hotspot type plans. I am on a very tight budget and hate to spend more then I will really need so my first choice would be to just get a good wifi range extender, although I am not very familiar with how they work exactly, the campground says they will be getting faster internet in a couple months but I imagine it still wont be great unless im close to the main office which I will not be. I use my computer for everything, lots of streaming movies and TV so I want something with good strong speeds but dont want to be paying some cell phone company overages and 100's a month to continue my normal activities. Thanks guys and gals.

If the campground has good wifi closer to the office but you are stuck out in the fringes, then I'd suggest trying a home built antenna. There are lots of instructions on the net for making directional antenna from $0 on up.

The basic "can-tenna" and the Pringles antenna are a couple of examples. And mounting them on a stick above the RV roof will also help get past the ground clutter between you and the router.

All the high tech equipment in the world won't help you if you have low band width. You mentioned in your post that you spend a lot of time on line for various reasons. Streaming any kind of video is intensely band width excessive. Most, if not all campgrounds limit the type of surfing you can do on their WiFi. Someone has to pay for the data used, and generally they want it to be the RVer.