How do you limit data usage?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

richardhufford

I am trying to picture the computer setup we are going to have someday in our RV.  Personally, I think a satellite connection would make the most sense, but from what I've read, it will probably be easier to set up an access point off of a cell phone.  Either way, we need to limit the amount of data we send across the internet connection.  What bothers me is that I feel like my computer sends and receives a lot of data behind my back.  Microsoft updates software, Facebook streams little videos, websites are always displaying ads that turn out to be videos or sound.  And I'm sure there are other things being sent off behind my back!  I find this very frustrating, because I'm a computer programmer and I'm supposed to understand this stuff!  Is there any way to get control over our data usage?

Hello Richard,

In the grand tradition of "real programmers' jokes" I must say that " real programmers don't use Windows"  ;D

Seriously now, I run Linux in my laptop (actually in all my machines) with  Windows in VMs for those must-have programs that don't have a Linux equivalent yet), and it's not hard to keep tabs on my data usage; basically:

- I keep an eye on data traffic (using a custom script, but you could as well use a standard indicator like the GNOME panel system monitor).

- If it goes up without reason, I use iptraf and netstat to fish out the program responsible for the uptick, and deal with it from there (either stopping the issue in the program itself, or by terminating/suspending it, or by writing packet-filtering/traffic-control rules to keep in within bounds).

There may be some form of doing the above in  Windows, but I wouldn't know...

I hope that helps (at least in getting you motivated to move away from Windows ;-) )

Cheers,
--
  Vall.