Towing Doubles

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Carl L said:
Here is the straight scoop .......

Thanks Carl. From what okiejoe wrote I thought they changed something. He is misstating when he says it's a "Federal License". There is no such thing. Only state licenses that meet and conform with the Federal minimum standards.

That is what I was thinking since you have to go to the state where you got the CDL to get it renewed and in the case of Texas you have to show up in person at the DMV.  Can't renew a CDL on line.

in alberta i can tow my 43 foot long fifth wheel with my 16 foot utility trailer behind with a f-450 pickup legally. I stopped in at the weigh scales for commercial vehicles to make sure. I was a little nervous to pull in as i am a professional truck driver and i know how the DOT can nit pick any little thing they can find to pull a trucker off the road.

Overall length of my unit is 81 feet. it is quite the site to see cruising around within a town like that, taking turns and such.

I can pull both trailers legally throughout canada with my big rigs, but i have to deal with log books and pull into every weigh scale/inspection facility.

note the above caution: DO NOT TRY TO BACK UP!!!! the combination of short truck, long trailer, short trailer is an absolute bear if you have to back her up. Once I was forced to unhook the small trailer and turn around the rig and then spin the trailer around by hand to hook it up again and go the other way.

Attachments

• IMAGE_00044b.jpg
    IMAGE_00044b.jpg
    126.5 KB · Views: 195
Ron said:
I wouldn't recommend trying to drive thatr combination through most states here in the US.  Not too many states allow 81 ft.