So you retired at 62... what are you doing for health insurance?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BigSkyTrailerGuy

(Paralleling my other thread on early retirement)... I'm close to doing it now at age 62.

But that's three years until Medicare eligible.

I'd love your suggestions again, this time on health care possibilities before 65.  Am I missing something?

I cheated.  I started drawing my military retirement at age 60 and also TriCare medical insurance as a result.  Then I found out I could buy into retirement from the US Courts (I worked for US Bankruptcy Courts) at age 60 if I had 5 years with the Courts.  I did and that small additional pension put me over the top.  I retired at age 60 with paid medical insurance.  Sorry, I doubt that helps you.  :p

I having been paying through the nose for private health insurance...there is no easy way to accomplish insurance.

When we retired early the DW and I just purchased a "Catastrophic Only" policy that would cover us until I was old enough to get the medical from my previous employer.  In order to kick in we would have had to have been hospitalized and had a hefty deductible to boot. But it was only intended to be for the big unknown things, not routine medical.  I bought it through South Dakota at the time as we were full timing.  Never needed it fortunately.  But when Obama care kicked in, the policy rate doubled in 2 years. It is still cheaper than buying a full coverage medical policy out right though.

Oh yeah, stay healthy, exercise, don't smoke, and eat right. It keeps the medical bills down.

When I turned 62 I was healthy as a horse and had never been sick. I got Medicare and signed up for secondary insurance with United Health Care. One month later I had two brain surgeries. Pretty much paid for my premiums for the rest of my life.