"10 year rule" question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ricknc

I'm new to RV'ing. I keep running across this so called "10 year rule" that some RV parks won't accept motorhomes older than 10 years. Is this a policy for longer term occupancy only or do they apply it to  weekenders and overnighters also?

Thanks
Rick

This is a policy some parks have and it can be either overnighnters or long term. Generally it is both

My thoery is those parks have too much business and thus need to restrict to newer rigs only
ALso sicne they have too much business..... They do not need mine.

Some parks have the rule and loosely enforce it, only if a dilapidated rig pulls in.  Some are hard line.  Either way I haven't ran into that rule very often. My buddy has a classic 1986 Apollo motorhome that would put many of the new ones to shame.  He doesn't report much trouble getting into parks.

Here's a recent thread in which we discussed this very topic: http://www.rvforum.net/SMF_forum/index.php/topic,97880.0.html

Having stayed in well over a thousand parks so far, I've only once been asked once what year our motorhome was. And that time, it was only a curious check-in clerk with a sister that owned one very similar to ours and he wondered if they were the same year. The only parks we've stayed in, usually for no more than a week, that published a 10-year rule only applied it to long term/seasonal guests.

Some time ago I first encountered this 10 year rule.
I was taken aback at the arrogance of having my rig "approved" to be presentable in their RV park.
I've since learned (here) there's a darn good reason for it.
Scott's reference to an earlier thread offers a very good explanation.
A picture is usually all it takes. I've never had a problem.

second time I'm reading about this "10 year rule" this week, I'm getting scared.