tracfone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wolfdog

I don't know if any of you use Tracfone for cell phone, we do at the present time but not for long.
On September 7 we bought two 1 GB. Cards  for data only on our Android phone the cards were for smart phones only, we already had 1.8  GB. Of data on the phone, the two GB. Never was shown on our phone, so I called Tracfone to find out where our data was we paid for and didn't get, they are telling me we got the data & used it already & there was nothing they could do or would do.
Just a a warning .

I have been using Tracfone for the past 3 years and it works perfectly as a cell phone for calls; I buy a annual card for $100. which gives me 1400 minutes for my 6 month stay in the USA.
For a on going data, I use a MI-FI card on a monthly cost "pay as you go", no contract; once installed at a resort, I then use their free WI-FI.

One of the data hogs is the background applications in auto mode. Here ate a few tips to save data:
SMART TIPS FOR DATA USERS

? TRACK USAGE: Download a Data Usage app, such as My Data Manager. If you have an Android? phone version 4.0 and later, you can set a mobile data limit reminder. You can also check your data usage by texting ?Usage? to 611611.
? Wi-Fi?: Use a secure Wi-Fi connection to stream music, videos, and other data-heavy content.
? AUTO UPDATES: Turn off auto updates on your apps or change your settings to update on Wi-Fi only.
? PICTURES AND VIDEO: Turn off automatic picture and video uploading or change your settings to upload on Wi-Fi only.
? EMAIL: Turn off push email or set email accounts to sync at hourly intervals or longer, or to update manually.
? MOBILE WEBSITES: Access the mobile website version of your choice. Full websites require more data to view and browse them.