What is the needed wattage to power a standard 30'' LG TV while boondocking?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Contestedmilk

I am currently full-timing in my Jayco Jay Feather Baja Sport pulled by a '04 Suburban. I am looking to add solar panels to my room in order to watch tv when boondocking. I am not sure how much power my tv requires.  I'm also not sure if I need to purchase another deep cycle battery so hold the solar power I will be collecting. I am quite new to RV life, (2 months to be exact) and am looking for advice and wisdom.

Your tv runs on 120vac power, not 12v, so you need an inverter to make 120vac from 12vdc. Then you need battery(s) to store the power, since the DC power from the solar panel varies from zero to (whatever its max is). And you probably want to watch tv after dark, too.
Somewhere on the tv, and in its manual, it will state the wattage, or possibly the current (amps) @ 120v. Either one lets you calculate the power demand from battery/solar. At a rough guess, about 100 watts, which means a continuous 9 amps from whatever 12v source powers the inverter.

I used a Kill-a-Watt meter on my two flatscreens when I calculated my solar.

24" used 20 watts
48" used 60 watts

You can buy 12v televisions too, below is one but there are many.

https://www.amazon.com/SuperSonic-1080p-Widescreen-Compatible-24-Inch/dp/B0082ULKUE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1475793170&sr=8-1&keywords=12v+tv

Frankedj said:
I used a Kill-a-Watt meter on my two flatscreens when I calculated my solar.

24" used 20 watts
48" used 60 watts
The amount of power the TV draws will change depending on the volume of the TV and the brightness of the screen at the time you measure it.

SeilerBird said:
The amount of power the TV draws will change depending on the volume of the TV and the brightness of the screen at the time you measure it.