New Journey battery question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sailorkane

Guys, bear with me.  Just got the new-to-us Journey DP.  Have had a Adventurer for a year, so not total newbees, but new to this coach.  Dumb question #1:  We picked up the coach and it had been sitting uncharged in sellers driveway.  House bank was not fully charged, but did have some charge.  We traveled to our home and used house lights, etc, during the trip.  Ended up discharging the house bank quite a bit.  Generator starts from house batteries.  So ended up with chassis batteries fully charged, but house batteries too discharged to start genset.  At "home" is a storage lot without electricity.  Is there supposed to be some way to charge house batteries while under way that is not working properly?  The "momentary" switch that combines chassis and house batteries did not let us start genset, so I am supposing there is a diode that lets house support chassis, but not the other way around.  Am I missing something?  Do I need to add an "echo charge" or "trik-L-charge" to let the engine alternator charge the house batteries also?

edit by staff - changed message icon to topic solved

Normally the engine alternator will charge the house batteries while underway but... this presumes that the relays (not a diode) etc are functioning as they should. One way to check is to measure the voltage at the house battery terminals, then start the engine and measure again. You should see a voltage greater than 13V while the engine is running. If you don't see that then you have spotted a problem that can be looked into. (Make sure you did not leave the "store" switch in the wrong position!!! In many cases it will prevent charging the batteries.) The momentary switch should have worked but again, it activates the same relay as the charge from the engine alternator does.