Car Dolly, Brakes or no brakes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Larry Browning

I am a RV newbie, In fact I do not even own one yet.  I am still doing research.  We have pretty much decided to go with a motorhome and tow a car behind.  I know this is called a toad or dinghy (I think)  I haven't learned the lingo just yet!  Anyway, my question has to do with a car dolly.  I have a 2012 Hyundai Elantra with automatic transmission.  I do know enough to know I cannot tow it without a dolly.  The question is, does the dolly need to have brakes or will one without brakes work for this car?

Thanks,

Larry

It all depends on the Prime Mover brakes and the weight of the TOAD.
For instance, I have a 3500 Sprinter based "C" and tow a Geo Tracker (2500#) and do NOT use or need additional brakes.
By the way, I tow 4 down but the same applies to a Dolly.
Marvin

GA_Boy said:
It all depends on the Prime Mover brakes and the weight of the TOAD.
For instance, I have a 3500 Sprinter based "C" and tow a Geo Tracker (2500#) and do NOT use or need additional brakes.
By the way, I tow 4 down but the same applies to a Dolly.
Marvin

I have my eye on a Thor Axix 25.2 I think it is on a Ford E350 frame will that require the dolly brakes to pull the Elantra?  Or would I just be better off getting a dolly with brakes just to be safe?

Most dollys come with brakes, either a surge or electric type.
Myself I would be very hesitant on towing without brakes, why risk it when the cost to be safe is soooo cheap???

Corky

I would never tow a car on a dolly behind a motorhome without brakes on the dolly, unless in some kind of an emergency.

The general rule is anything over #3000 must have brakes, per DOT. That includes the weight of the toad and the dolly together. Very few cars will hit that weight, so most dollys, and toads, have brakes.