OCCC ratings

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dgeffs

I've noticed that most MH specs don't include this rating in the online spec sheets. Perhaps this is understandable since it can easily change with installed options. However this is a critical issue if one plans to drag around a lot of stuff. Is this spec available online from Winnie for different floor plans? I'm currently looking at a new or recent Vista LX 35F because we like the floor plan but without knowing what it can carry I don't even know if it's worth consideration. I am a first time buyer so I'm pretty new to this.

You can call Owner Relations and ask those questions - they might have a generic OCCC for comparison.  When we ordered our Horizon from Lazydays, I had a contract proviso that I would not accept delivery without looking at and approving a weight slip from truck scales.

OCCC has a very specific and legal meaning, so they rarely quote it as a generic number for a floor plan. Federal rules require that OCCC be accurate to within 100 lbs on each specific vehicle, and that simply cannot be done without weighing each actual RV.

What is typically quoted is GVWR and dry, shipping, or empty weight. The difference between those two will approximate the OCCC, subject to options and changes in manufacturing.

Or contact an RV dealer that actually has a model you are interested in and ask them to give you the OCCC from that particular one. Others with the same floor plan will be similar, probably within a few hundred lbs.

Hi Gary,

Gary RV Roamer said:
What is typically quoted is GVWR and dry, shipping, or empty weight. The difference between those two will approximate the OCCC, subject to options and changes in manufacturing.

We haven't looked at many motorhomes as we're planning on a 5thWheel, but for the ones we've looked at, we could never find the "dry weight" number.