New workamper seeking insurance advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HoundyBoy

Hello workampers! I'm a jewelry artist/silversmith and just purchased a 2003 Fleetwood Tioga 24D that's been converted into live/work space for my studio...Very excited!

I thought it would be easy to add the RV to my car insurance policy at Progressive, but they told me they do not insure RVs that are used for work purposes. Any recommendations? I am open to changing my auto policy so I can insure both vehicles through the same insurance provider, but also open to using a separate provider for the RV, just not sure what my options are and what makes more sense.

Thanks for any advice and suggestions, looking forward to reading all about workamping here :)

Confused here too because I previously insured my 5th wheel LQ horse trailer with Progressive, and that was used exclusively for work. Sigh. No idea why it's a different deal for a motorized coach?

I have to assume your going to travel to fairs and such?  And not try to set up shop at RV parks.  Did you mention that you will be working out of your RV?  First mistake.  Simply tell them you will be living in it XX number of months a year and see what they say.  Other than that I guess you need to start calling insurance companies.