Battery- bang for your buck

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ahmetd

Hey guys I'm new to the whole RV world but I'm full time living in mine and have been in here for 2 months now, I'm located in Colorado and obviously it gets cold.
When I bought the RV the battery was not holding a great barge so I ventured to camping world and was sold on 2 exide stowaway 24mdcst batteries 80 amp/h each. After some more research I'm finding out that these aren't true deep cycle batteries but a hybrid and I'm seeing them not hold much of a charge after one time getting them low on charge. 
What I'm trying to ask is what y'all would recommend for a guy who is living full time in the RV who wants optimal battery usage in cold weather, I also have 1 100 watt solar panel and am looking to add more so a battery that does well with charging off the grid.

I'm looking to spend somewhere in the range of 300. Hope you guys can help me out with this one! Thanks I really appreciate all the knowledge I see here!

Hard to beat two 6volt golf cart batteries from Costco (>$200 total) and a little bit of wiring to get them in a series so they deliver 12v.

I've had 4 of them for nearly 5 years.  When we used to buy 12v batteries two years was about it.

I'm a big fan of our AGMs. They're 105 AH each, they charge quickly, they're less susceptible to sulfation - a process that ultimately causes most lead/acid batteries to no longer be able to hold a charge, and they're truly maintenance free. The problem is, they're pricey... 2 to 3 times the cost of many other batteries. But properly cared for they'll also outlive many other batteries.

Kev

wstuart said:
For many the Trojan T105 were the fav's.
My new rig has 4 Interstate 6 volts, so we will see.
Cheers