The RV Forum Community

RVing message boards => Winnebago-specific issues => Topic started by: 2011winnie on November 13, 2016, 07:55:22 PM

Title: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: 2011winnie on November 13, 2016, 07:55:22 PM
2011 Winnebago Access Premier 31JP   Trying to get the TV to work on the air antenna. Did the scan thing, checked the right TV button, booster is on, 12 volts going to antenna via coaxial, bought new Winegard antenna.....still no channels being picked up. My other TT TV works fine in same location.  Any ideas?


edit by staff - changed message icon to topic solved
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: WILDEBILL308 on November 13, 2016, 09:02:41 PM
2011 Winnebago Access Premier 31JP   Trying to get the TV to work on the air antenna. Did the scan thing, checked the right TV button, booster is on, 12 volts going to antenna via coaxial, bought new Winegard antenna.....still no channels being picked up. My other TT TV works fine in same location.  Any ideas?
On the TV before you did the scan for stations did you change from "cable" to "antenna" I think it is in input. I know on my tv it is before you scroll down to the scan.
Bill
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: John Canfield on November 14, 2016, 07:25:16 AM
I assume this is a new to you rig? Has the TV ever worked for over the air reception? Did you check the cabling behind the TV into the switch box?
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: Rene T on November 14, 2016, 07:29:23 AM
On the TV before you did the scan for stations did you change from "cable" to "antenna" I think it is in input. I know on my tv it is before you scroll down to the scan.
Bill

I have a Vizio. I have to click the menu button on the remote, then scroll down to TV then there's an option for tuner mode. Either cable or antenna.
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: ArdraF on November 14, 2016, 06:05:45 PM
After choosing either Antenna or Cable there should be an Automatic Programming function.  Did it get to that?  Without that you won't get any stations.

ArdraF
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: 2011winnie on December 27, 2016, 12:19:04 PM
Sorry for the late reply....I think this is one for the Gremlin inspectors....
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: SCVJeff on December 29, 2016, 11:53:57 AM
Sorry for the late reply....I think this is one for the Gremlin inspectors....
what about all the questions asked above?
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: 2011winnie on December 29, 2016, 04:17:57 PM
Jeff,

I tried it all....lol  It's gotta be something so simple that I've missed or something too complicated for me.  :)
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: 2011winnie on January 23, 2017, 06:50:43 PM
Finally had the time to work on this. I used a second TV to rule out some things. I traded off coaxial connections from the BOMB to this TV. Everything worked using the second TV, I was able to get as many as 22 channels. I then hooked up the factory installed TV again and it still wouldn't pick up any channels. I'm going to replace the factory installed TV with a new one.

I can't say I understand why the original TV won't pick up any channels, but hopefully a new TV will solve the problem.
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: Charlie 5320 on January 23, 2017, 10:03:48 PM
Finally had the time to work on this. I used a second TV to rule out some things. I traded off coaxial connections from the BOMB to this TV. Everything worked using the second TV, I was able to get as many as 22 channels. I then hooked up the factory installed TV again and it still wouldn't pick up any channels. I'm going to replace the factory installed TV with a new one.

I can't say I understand why the original TV won't pick up any channels, but hopefully a new TV will solve the problem.
A TV that old may not be able to receive digital broadcast without a converter box. My first LCD TV couldn't receive over the air channels after they made the change with out a converter box.   
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: ChasA on January 24, 2017, 07:41:24 AM
92GA,
It's a 2011, it will be digital.
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: Mile High on January 24, 2017, 08:43:25 AM
A TV that old may not be able to receive digital broadcast without a converter box. My first LCD TV couldn't receive over the air channels after they made the change with out a converter box.
2011 is "that old" already? Man, I better start looking at trading in! :)
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: Gary RV_Wizard on January 24, 2017, 09:27:41 AM
Quote
I can't say I understand why the original TV won't pick up any channels, but hopefully a new TV will solve the problem.

If it does, it will be purely serendipity.  The chance that the tuner has failed on a 5 year old tv is extremely thin. Not inconceivable, but waaaay unlikley.

The problem is 99.99% likely to be in the set-up of TV or its cabling. Even if the tv is in "cable" mode rather than "antenna" or "air", it should find at least a couple of those 22 stations the other tv gets.  It does need to be in a digital tuning mode, though. If it is trying to do analog, it probably won't get anything from today's over-the-air (antenna) broadcasts.

What make & model tv is it?  Does this tv work with other inputs, e.g. a DVD or park cable?
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: BIG JOE on January 24, 2017, 10:47:36 AM
If it does, it will be purely serendipity.  The chance that the tuner has failed on a 5 year old tv is extremely thin. Not inconceivable, but waaaay unlikley.

The problem is 99.99% likely to be in the set-up of TV or its cabling. Even if the tv is in "cable" mode rather than "antenna" or "air", it should find at least a couple of those 22 stations the other tv gets.  It does need to be in a digital tuning mode, though. If it is trying to do analog, it probably won't get anything from today's over-the-air (antenna) broadcasts.

What make & model tv is it?  Does this tv work with other inputs, e.g. a DVD or park cable?

What Gary asked & said, And...

You could go thru the Menu and find the system/master "Reset" feature (?)to reset everything back to Factory defaults. Then start from scratch on all the settings and inputs ?

I go with Gary's 99.99% theory.

Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: 2011winnie on January 24, 2017, 06:36:04 PM
Yea, If this was an 8 trac in a 1974 Chevy I'd be all over it...lol

I think the TV should work too. It was set to "air" when I checked it out.
It does work with the DVD, I haven't had it connected to cable yet.
I'll check and see it there is some sort of "reset" for it.
The TV is a Jensen 19", not sure of the model. It is a package set up with DVD and coach radio.

I'll have to take it down to replace it so it should be easier to get to. If I find that it works, I'll put it back up and use the new one in the bedroom.
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: panthercity on February 08, 2017, 02:46:45 PM
Hi Winnie2011! We bought a 'lightly used 2011 Access Premium 31NP in December of 2015. Somewhat surprised at some of your information. Took us several trips before we really got the hang of our entertainment system. First, our front TV is a 32" Furion. The bedroom set is a 19" Furion. If the BOMB is set to Antenna for the TV, and the switches are correct, and you go to menu on the TV, tell it to scan it should show something. (We learned on the third trip that the turning around three times and casting last nights chicken bones wasn't really necessary.)

Obviously you've already tried all of the above. Just making sure we are on the same page.

Have you physically removed the TV?

I removed ours (what a PITA!) to set it up for satellite. And have a little better idea as to what goes where. Does yours look like this?

 
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: panthercity on February 08, 2017, 02:48:17 PM
This is the thread I started a bit ago.

http://www.rvforum.net/SMF_forum/index.php?topic=102097.0
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: SCVJeff on February 12, 2017, 04:25:58 AM
Yea, If this was an 8 trac in a 1974 Chevy I'd be all over it...lol

I think the TV should work too. It was set to "air" when I checked it out.
It does work with the DVD, I haven't had it connected to cable yet.
I'll check and see it there is some sort of "reset" for it.
The TV is a Jensen 19", not sure of the model. It is a package set up with DVD and coach radio.

I'll have to take it down to replace it so it should be easier to get to. If I find that it works, I'll put it back up and use the new one in the bedroom.
so throughout all of this have you been able to screw another external antenna directly into the TV itself? I'm not a big fan of Jensen, but these days dead electronics in TV's are somewhat rare. If that works you can at least go back to the antenna
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: denmarc on February 12, 2017, 05:20:14 AM
Sometimes I'm glad I didn't throw out my old CRT TV!
This thread is giving me a headache!  ;) :D
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: John Canfield on February 12, 2017, 06:59:47 AM
Sometimes I'm glad I didn't throw out my old CRT TV!
Get rid of the tube TV and save about 20-50 pounds!
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: 8Muddypaws on February 12, 2017, 08:31:24 AM
Furion is not a highly regarded brand, the TV could be toast,  but it's also likely to be the BOMB.  Try swapping the output being used by the back TV with the front and scan again. 

Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: Mile High on February 12, 2017, 10:19:43 AM
Starting to see Furion everywhere in RVs (first sign that it is a cheap brand :)).  I saw Furion on the new cooktops and ovens, back up cameras, and I think even awnings.  Furion must be the new LCI or else LCI owns Furion.
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: denmarc on February 12, 2017, 03:21:51 PM
Get rid of the tube TV and save about 20-50 pounds!

I know what you're saying. But the stupid thing still works great. An old AC/DC 13"er. Small screen, I know. I have to squint a bit to read the small print when watching the weather.
And I'm a permanent park. Don't care about the extra weight.
Kind of a testament to the old saying "They don't make 'em like they used to."
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: 2011winnie on February 13, 2017, 06:52:02 PM
UPDATE    The Jensen TV seems to be the problem. I tried another TV and it worked great!  I went to install the new TV, but I found out there are not the same amount of plug ins in the new TV as the Jensen has. Another minor setback/headache. I bought a splitter that will work for the new TV.  The new TV does not mount up to the mount as the Jensen did. I have to make some adjustments with spacers and brackets....yeash.  For now the Jensen can stay, I added another coaxial lead to the TV3. If I need to use the "air" antennae I just use the new TV hooked to TV3.  Campgrounds almost always have cable anyways.  What a trip for something that should have been simple....lol
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: John Canfield on February 14, 2017, 06:38:21 AM
Glad you found the problem, thanks for checking back in!

I've been toying with the idea of replacing my Hitachi flat panel in the Horizon's salon for an LED backlight model (much lighter, less energy) but that might require more carpentry - that's the issue of building cabinetry around a particular model of TV.
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: WILDEBILL308 on February 14, 2017, 11:24:21 AM
I know what you're saying. But the stupid thing still works great. An old AC/DC 13"er. Small screen, I know. I have to squint a bit to read the small print when watching the weather.
And I'm a permanent park. Don't care about the extra weight.
Kind of a testament to the old saying "They don't make 'em like they used to."
No they make them much better. With prices falling you can get a nice hi def GIANT screen(compared to the 13") that you can actually see the weather report on.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/lg-24-class-23-6-diag--led-720p-hdtv-black/4569901.p?skuId=4569901
$89.00 not 3D or Hi def but a step up.
I know you might have space limitations so here is anouther smaller TV.
http://www.consumerreports.org/products/lcd-led-oled-tvs/samsung-un28h4000-259830/overview/ From around $160.00
Next as an example having a movie theater in your home.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/samsung-40-class-40-diag--led-2160p-smart-4k-ultra-hd-tv-with-high-dynamic-range-black/5133600.p?skuId=5133600
$549.00 You can see  the dimples on the weather girl....
Bill
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: SCVJeff on February 14, 2017, 12:07:59 PM
Yep, there are ZERO advantages in an old CRT anymore. The world has gone digital and those things are just dinosaurs that simply don't work without a converter box, but they still look awful. Geeeze, you can find 19-22" flat screen receivers in sale for $50 all the time now. You might actually save your eyes while you're at it. We ain't going back, ever... so move on
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: panthercity on February 14, 2017, 03:37:02 PM
UPDATE    The Jensen TV seems to be the problem. I tried another TV and it worked great!  I went to install the new TV, but I found out there are not the same amount of plug ins in the new TV as the Jensen has. Another minor setback/headache. I bought a splitter that will work for the new TV.  The new TV does not mount up to the mount as the Jensen did. I have to make some adjustments with spacers and brackets....yeash.  For now the Jensen can stay, I added another coaxial lead to the TV3. If I need to use the "air" antennae I just use the new TV hooked to TV3.  Campgrounds almost always have cable anyways.  What a trip for something that should have been simple....lol

That's great!

Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: BIG JOE on February 14, 2017, 04:15:00 PM
Get rid of the tube TV and save about 20-50 pounds!

Ahh.. Memory Lane:

 1 5r ago, I upgraded to a 32" Visio Flat Screen... from a 26"(?) Sony Trinitron (CRT). It was ALL my neighbor and I could do.. to heft that thing out of the RV cabinetry, and out of the rig (drug it on an old rug)and into my pick-up, that I had backed up to the rig door.

When we got to the E-waste site.. we just rolled it off the tailgate. When it hit the ground.. it left a gouge in the asphalt ! The E-waste guys had forklift.. gave us a hand loading/dumping it into their bin. No Way could we have lifted that thing to the bin door.

I think I got 1, maybe 2 MPG's more.. after doing that Up-Grade ???  ;) ;D
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: denmarc on February 16, 2017, 10:36:15 AM
Yep, there are ZERO advantages in an old CRT anymore.

I know! I get it!
The only thing that has put it on the back burner for me is the darn thing still works fine. And being out in the woods with no sat or cable, only terrestrial TV, old episodes of I Love Lucy and The Andy Griffith Show look the same on almost any TV in the middle of the night.  ;)
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: WILDEBILL308 on February 16, 2017, 09:30:44 PM
Sometimes it's just time to upgrade. ;)
Bill
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: denmarc on February 17, 2017, 10:16:00 AM
Yeah, yeah, yeah!
Call me old fashion!
I still have an old Westinghouse fridge in my garage that's over 25 years old that keeps our beer and soda cold. Works like it was built yesterday. Am I going to update? HELL NO!  ;)
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: SCVJeff on February 18, 2017, 04:37:30 AM
Well if that's all your watching then it might not make sense. But anything not in a 4:3 ratio will never look right
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: John Canfield on February 18, 2017, 06:22:46 AM
...I still have an old Westinghouse fridge in my garage that's over 25 years old that keeps our beer and soda cold. Works like it was built yesterday. Am I going to update? ...
Those old fridges are huge energy wasters, it might still work, but it's terribly inefficient.
Title: Re: Programing TV to air antenna
Post by: denmarc on February 20, 2017, 07:03:51 AM
I know, John. But it's in the garage at the stick & brick home. And it was given to me for free! I've had it for about 10 years and still works perfectly. It's unplugged during the winter. It's no big deal. It just comes in real handy for keeping the adult beverage, cases of bottled water, pop, etc. cold and ready to bring to the TT for stay.

It just amazes me that the old fridge just won't die!