Installing Onan in a class C

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shadetreewrench

Hello from a newbie, great forum! I have been here for references many time as a guest, maybe I can get some information.

I have recently purchased a 1989 Mallard 26 foot class C on a Ford E350, as a project for my Father, I currently own a 2007 Rockwood tow behind for myself. Yesterday I found a good used Onan 4.0BGEF genset that is also from a 1989 unit that has been scrapped. The unit runs good and makes power, now I need to install it.

I am in uncharted territory here. None of the units I have ever owned have had one as an installed unit. I am an experienced mechanic and know electrical well, I am absoluety confident I can do the installation, with the proper specifications.

So, here are my questions:
The unit is pre-wired for a generator, has the compartment, (solid box, no vents)  and the circuit box mounted and wired to the converter. I know that a rectangular hole needs to be cut in the floor for the cooling/exhaust vent, where does the intake vent need to be cut in?

There is no under bracing under the box mounted to the chassis. Do i need to fabricate one? Or is the box heavy enough to support the weight.

I want to wire the chassis battery to crank the genset, what gauge wire is used, I would assume 6 ga would be heavy enough.

Of all the people I know, no one has a unit with a similar setup that i can look at, is anyone out there that has this kind of setup ?

Thanks