New Toy Hauler and a Chevy Silverado

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

moskydives

I am new to the Toy Hauler and RV World, I currently have a small pop up camper but I am looking to upgrade to a Toy Hauler that I can tow with my 2000 Chevy Silverado truck.  I am not sure what to look at when figuring out my tow capacity.  I live in FL which is a very flat state but would possibly do a roadtrip to Nevada with my set up.  My truck is a 2000 Silverado LS 1500, 4WD, Extended Cab, Vortec 5300 V8. I am looking into purchasing a Forest River XLR Hyperlite 29HFS Toy Hauler and will be putting a Golf Cart into the Toy Hauler for FL travel.  Going out west I would not be bringing the Golf Cart.  Can anyone tell me if this will work? What could I tow with my truck?  I have asked several RV dealers in my area and keep getting different answers (things like I think that will work, should be ok, etc)  What should I be looking at when figuring this stuff out?

welcome to the forum.
I would include the  gear ratio of the truck, weights of the trailer and golf cart. a little more info and you will get some good answers. I don't know much about the weights....

in your glove box, there should be a sticker with RPO codes. 
You can google RPO codes to find the listing
I found this one
http://www.marshu.com/images-website/car/gm-firebird-camaro-rpo-car-door-manufacturer-codes/gm-firebird-camaro-GM-RPO-car-codes.pdf
Your rear end ratios are listed I think with a number starting with F... such as F68 for a 3.45:1

with the RPO sticker, you can cross reference all the options you have, type of engine.... tranny, etc....

Then look in the owners manual towing section.  There will be charts listing the various capacities based on the engine, tranny, and rear end ratio options..... and other variables such as 4x4, crew cab, etc....
You are looking for the GCWR and the GCWR