Looking for Boondocker friend/group OR. WA.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Techman101101

Hello all,

I am brand new to motorhomes and boon-docking.

I am looking to hopefully follow or join someone or group that are experienced boon-dockers in the northwest Oregon and southwest Washington areas.

I have lived my whole life in major cities obeying laws, following rules so I have some trepidation about camping in the complete wilderness.

And so far, I have only taken my 32 foot Winnebago to official (legitimate) camping spots.

But I want to try Boon Docking… I just need a “primer”, someone with experience to get me going.

Not even sure if “Boondockers” have groups or if what I am hoping to find is contrary to the idea of Boon Docking.

Anyway, I just thought I would post this to find out.

This would be for the Pacific Northwest, Portland, Oregon area, northern Oregon and southern Washington.

And I would be willing to pitch in for fuel and/or food in exchange for this guidance.

Also, I would be happy to share references (people I know at church and other friends) who will vouch for my character. (Smile)

Thanks in advance (smile)

Hang in there. There are a lot of people on this forum with knowledge to share. You just need to be aware that there is a learning curve with any type of RV-ing, especially boondocking.

Free camping is probably what most think of as boondocking but others think of it as a spot with no hook ups. You need to be self sufficient with power and water etc.

Campendium is a good place you find spots which might help you get an idea of what you are looking for.

We like forest campsites which are not free (but fairly cheap), are well looked after, have stay limits and feel safe.