5th wheel electric brakes problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

allscott

I'm pretty new to this so bear with me.

I bought a new truck and a 5th wheel camper last year.  Details;

TV - 2008 Dodge 3/4 ton diesel

RV - 1999 Vanguard 26' fifth wheel approx 6000 lbs

Prodigy brake controller.

Last year I set up the brake controller and everything was fine.  This spring I took the camper to the city to have the axels flipped to raise it up.  At the same time I had them pack the wheel bearings and install new tires.  I didn't drive it home so I don't know the status of the brakes after that.

Went out on a maiden voyage for the year a couple of weeks ago and it seemed like I didn't have any trailer brakes.  Coasting with the truck in neutral I applied full manual brakes on the controller but could hardly feel a thing.

I took it in today to a machine shop / trailer specialty shop (I'm in a small town so not a lot of options).  They seemed kind of baffled.  For one they had never seen a controller like mine before and told me they could only get 4Vout of it?  They adjusted the drums and said that they "looked really good".  So I drove it home and tried manually applying the brakes with the controller and found it was better but even with full power I couldn't lock them up. 

What really boils me is when I got home I found out that they had unhooked the breakaway switch (at the switch end) and I drove it home that way, guess that doesn't work either!  I know I should have checked it but they hooked up and were supposed to be the trailer experts.....  Unless I'm out to lunch I think that should have locked up the brakes solid.

So what the heck?  I'm a professional electrical engineer and a journeyman electrician but I know nothing about brakes.  Thats why I took it to people who supposedly know what they are doing.