A/C blows warm...HELP PLEASE!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kheren

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Posts
135
Location
Pinetop, Az.
Hi all, so our dometic a/c (roof mounted) is now blowing warm air, or room temp air. Our ?service? guy said if we can put a ?port? on it, he charge it up with freon for us (yes, will get new service guy). Does that even make sense though? My next question is ...a few months ago I replaced the thermostat and I can?t help but think I screwed that up somehow. Upon installation I did test it, but it was cold out so maybe the fan air just felt like the a/c was working? This time, I had my husband go on the roof and listen, he could not hear the compressor run. If in fact it?s out of Freon, could that cause the compressor to just not turn on? What can I check on my DIY thermostat replacement? A lot of questions, thanks for any help.
 

SargeW

Site Team
Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Posts
8,266
Location
Where ever we park it!
Sorry to say that RV AC units do not have ports to recharge freon. If you are in fact out of freon, that is exactly why the compressor will not run. In theory a port could be added, but for the expense, it wouldn't be worth it.
 

Kheren

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Posts
135
Location
Pinetop, Az.
Thank so much for the reply, I was afraid we may need to replace it. I?m reading online that we can also check the capacitor ? I?m looking into that now as well, before the plunge.
 

Kevin Means

Site Team
Joined
Aug 3, 2010
Posts
5,050
Location
Lakeside, California
You didn't say how old your AC unit was, but Marty's right - it's a closed system. Yes, someone could install a charging port and recharge it (if that's the problem) but I'd take a close look at the thermostat installation first.

It's been my experience that when problems occur immediately after I worked on something, it's usually because I screwed something up.

Kev
 

Kheren

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Posts
135
Location
Pinetop, Az.
Yes, thanks, I?m leaning towards me screwing it up as well lol...though I?m not sure how to experiment with it. Heat works great and fan....ideas on wiring?
 

Kheren

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Posts
135
Location
Pinetop, Az.
Well I just put old thermostat back on...works perfect, sigh. Also how do I find my own posts without searching keywords and flipping through many pages? Thanks.
 

Rene T

Site Team
Joined
May 20, 2011
Posts
19,474
Location
Farmington NH
Kheren said:
Well I just put old thermostat back on...works perfect, sigh. Also how do I find my own posts without searching keywords and flipping through many pages? Thanks.
Just click on your name above the avatar then click on "show posts" under your avatar.
 

SpencerPJ

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Posts
4,029
Location
Midwest
Kheren said:
Well I just put old thermostat back on...works perfect, sigh.
Cough Cough, I'd rather be looking for a different thermostat than a different AC unit  ;) 8) 8)
 

Kheren

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Posts
135
Location
Pinetop, Az.
Agreed! A definite relief! I was trying to go digital with a Honeywell...didn?t fare well apparently. Haha.
 
Top Bottom