Anyone using cingular aircards?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jwright

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Posts
9
Location
raliegh, nc
Im thinking about using the cingular aircard with a linksys router designed to have the pcmcia card inserted.  Does anyone have any experience with cingular for internet?
 

Tom

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Posts
48,937
My t-mobile air card roams to Cingular. I've found repeatedly that the speeds are lower on Cingular than on t-mobile's own towers/networks.

Sprint and Verizon currently offer faster air card services and IIRC Sprint throws the card in for free with a 2-year contract.
 

christian

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Posts
5
Yes, I use the Sierra 860 card.  I get between 120-180kbps on Edge service and a blistering 0.8-1.2M on 3g.
 

Ned

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Posts
25,107
Location
USA
Al, see here for information on the Linksys WRT54G3G-ST Wireless-G Router for Mobile Broadband.
 

AlGriefer

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 24, 2005
Posts
300
Location
Las Vegas, NV (when not traveling)
Ned said:
Al, see here for information on the Linksys WRT54G3G-ST Wireless-G Router for Mobile Broadband.

Yep, I saw that one, but it's specifically for Sprint and EVDO cards.  There's a UMTS version available in Europe, but that may not work with Cingular cards.  The cards are designed to be serial ports and require the correct ATD command, login, and passwrd information to work.

Al
 

Tom

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Posts
48,937
Al,

A guy camped next to Dave at Las Cruces mentioned he was using a router that accepted an air card. I didn't pay a lot of attention to the brand of router or air card service, but Doc did. Next time you talk to him, ask him for the info.
 

jwright

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Posts
9
Location
raliegh, nc
After several calls (linksys, cingular(3) ) cingular agreed it will work.  linksys says the "Option 3g card" will work (only one that cingular sells that is compatable with this router.  It will be at least a month before I try and set this up.  The advantage to this setup is largest mobile area in the US plus being able to use while in route.
 

Shayne

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Posts
4,324
I've got the old Verizon card but don't use the dang slow thing.  Have cable here at PEM Only trouble is when I go to the Q is finding enough cable to attach to the MH as I motor toward tje Q, before I go broke.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
120,587
Posts
1,211,525
Members
125,688
Latest member
TZARTOMJR
Top Bottom