Best route, Illinois to Nova Scotia thru Maine - MH+toad

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rolin

We are planning to go from Illinois to Nova Scotia going though Maine. I am not experienced with using toll roads. We will be driving a 26ft class c pulling a toad. I understand you need a transponder in both the Motorhome and Toad. There is the I-Pass and the E-Zpass that work through multiple states. Which is best if you are out of state...we don't reside in Illinois.

Is it worth the extra gas to find ways around the toll roads? Pop up into Canada and go through Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick to Nova Scotia. I know that fuel is more expensive in Canada but would avoiding the tolls and the currency conversion make that the best option?

Just looking for the most cost efficient (and at my age the easiest) travel route. So many possibilities its making my brain tired.

Anyone have experience or suggestions traveling through the Northeast with Motorhome and Toad?
Rolin

When attached your towed doesn't need a transponder, if fact if it has one it must be wrapped in aluminum foil to prevent it from over-charging you. The toll system recognizes the number of axles. DO NOT sign up for the truck pass.
Illinois has the best plan IMO, and it works throughout the NE.

Ray-IN,
Thank you for that information. Makes it easier and takes a load off my mind.
I will get a transponder from Illinois.

If you have traveled across the Northeast on the toll roads, do you have any favorite places to overnight?
Rolin

We just arrived home from Florida, via a stop in Ottawa. The most expensive gas in the US was in upstate NY where we paid $4.89 a gallon. The 3 fill ups from Ottawa were all at Costco Warehouses and all 3 were at $1.96 per Liter. Doing the math our gas was about $5.96 US dollars.