Brand New to RVing and need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

idhunter

I'm brand new to RVing and this forum, hoping to learn a lot!

I recently bought a 2008 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Duramax crew cab 4x4 with 150k miles to use as a camper hauler for me and my wife and two daughters.  After looking around for a while i found a 9' Fleetwood Caribou camper that weighs 3100 lbs wet and bought it.  I filled up the airbags to about 50 PSI and drove it home 150 miles and everything seemed to ride great. Once i got home i got to reading my truck owners manual about truck campers and it states there's a sticker in the glove box about max cargo weight ratings....sure enough it states a cargo weight rating of 1880 lbs. 

How come would it state a cargo rating of only 1880 lbs when 1880 + Vehicle are far less than the 9900 GVWR listed on the door sticker? 

Am I safe hauling 3100 lbs?  This is a big beefy truck and doesn't seem like an overly large camper, but the weight in the glove box has me concerned.  I see truck like mine or even smaller hauling big(er) campers all the time.  Am i missing something?

I'm running on brand new Michelin Defender LT265/75R/16 tires with a Load Range E rating.  Will these suffice?

Thank you for any advice you can offer.

IDHunter,

As soon as you can, take the whole rig to a truck scale and get weight for both front and rear.  When you pay and get that slip, do two things: write on it what the tanks were when it was weighed and next is compare it to the door tag that has the weighs allowed on it and come back here and tell us what that all says.  Without real data it is all just a guess.

Matt

Matt_C said:
IDHunter,