Dometic DM2672

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tlmgcamp

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Posts
292
The unit has an AUTO function and a GAS function. I don't see how I can tell if it is using gas or shore power when in AUTO mode.
 

Boat Bum

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 17, 2022
Posts
408
Location
Amesbury Mass on NH border
A quick look at the product description says it's fully automatic so when plugged in it will use that if not it will use gas; provided the gas is turned on. As to whether there is a visual indicator I cannot say.
 

Gary RV_Wizard

Site Team
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Posts
77,155
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
In prior models the GAS light came on when AUTO switched to Gas operation mode. I don't know for sure if this model works the same way, but it's easy to find out. With the trailer plugged in and the fridge in AUTO mode, flip the circuit breaker (in the load/power center of the RV) for the circuit that serves the fridge. AUTO mode will detect the loss of 120v power and switch to Gas. See if the Gas light comes on. Then flip the circuit breaker back on again and the AUTO mode should shut off the gas burner and restore electric operation, and the Gas light goes off again.
 

Kirk

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Posts
4,111
Location
Full-time , Escapee
It seems that I have a choice of AUTO or GAS
That is correct. If you select auto mode and have 120V power that is what it will use, but if for some reason you should loose 120V it will shift to propane (gas mode). If for some reason you do not wish to use shore power you simply push the mode button and the unit will shift to gas if propane is available and the gas light will turn on.

Here is a copy of the owner's manual that you can download, if you do not have one.
 

tlmgcamp

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Posts
292
That is correct. If you select auto mode and have 120V power that is what it will use, but if for some reason you should loose 120V it will shift to propane (gas mode). If for some reason you do not wish to use shore power you simply push the mode button and the unit will shift to gas if propane is available and the gas light will turn on.

Here is a copy of the owner's manual that you can download, if you do not have one.
I have the manual, but thanks. I guess my issue is that I am a "trust but confirm" guy when it comes to automated systems. Even though it may be doing it's thing, I would still like to know what exactly it's doing.
 

Old_Crow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Posts
3,625
Location
Tom's Place, California
I have the manual, but thanks. I guess my issue is that I am a "trust but confirm" guy when it comes to automated systems. Even though it may be doing it's thing, I would still like to know what exactly it's doing.
I have the same unit. As long as the "check" light isn't on, it's cooling.
If the rig is plugged in to shore power or the generator, it's using 120v. If it's unplugged, it'll be running on propane.
You can force it to use gas, and if it's quiet in the coach, you can hear the burner light off.
Mine has a problem that it doesn't like to stay running on gas when I'm above about 7200' of elevation. I have just developed the habit of checking it every so often to make sure the "check" light is off.
 

tlmgcamp

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Posts
292
I have the same unit. As long as the "check" light isn't on, it's cooling.
If the rig is plugged in to shore power or the generator, it's using 120v. If it's unplugged, it'll be running on propane.
You can force it to use gas, and if it's quiet in the coach, you can hear the burner light off.
Mine has a problem that it doesn't like to stay running on gas when I'm above about 7200' of elevation. I have just developed the habit of checking it every so often to make sure the "check" light is off.
Thanks, looks like I just need to have faith in tech. I wonder if it is supposed to be on electric and I shut off the gas, will I get a warning if it is actually on gas instead
 

Old_Crow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Posts
3,625
Location
Tom's Place, California
Thanks, looks like I just need to have faith in tech. I wonder if it is supposed to be on electric and I shut off the gas, will I get a warning if it is actually on gas instead
If it's on electric and you shut the gas off, no, no warning.
If it's on gas and you either shut the gas off or run out of propane, the "check" light will come on.

I'm with you in saying that they could have done a better job with the indicators and controls. At one of my hosting jobs, I had the coach hooked up to a 250gallon propane tank for the season. Ran the fridge on propane for the whole season without being aware that I had hit the gas button to force the thing to operate on gas. Didn't notice for about 3 weeks after we left that job, when the onboard tank went empty in the middle of the night and the "check" light finally came on.
 

Kirk

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Posts
4,111
Location
Full-time , Escapee
I wonder if it is supposed to be on electric and I shut off the gas, will I get a warning if it is actually on gas instead
If the unit shifts to propane the gas light will be on, or at least that is how mine works. If it is on electric and it for some reason is shifted to gas and you have the gas turned off, you will get the check light but if it is using electircity and you turn off the gas the refrigerator will not even know that the gas is off unless or until it attempts to use gas.

If you want to try it and see if yours will turn on the gas light if it shifts to gas via the automatic mode, when you have it in automatic and operating on shore power, with the propane supply on just turn off your lager 120V loads like the air conditioner and then go to the power pedestal and open the circuit breaker to your outlet. That will cause the refrigerator to shift to propane and you can then look to see if the gas light is on. Very easy to do.
 

Gary RV_Wizard

Site Team
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Posts
77,155
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
If you force it to Gas mode, is there a light on the panel that comes on to show that? The manual isn't clear, just saying that the AUTO light goes off. If there is no positive indication that Gas is in use, I agree that the fridge design is lacking (not an uncommon thing in the RV world).
 

Old_Crow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Posts
3,625
Location
Tom's Place, California
If you force it to Gas mode, is there a light on the panel that comes on to show that? The manual isn't clear, just saying that the AUTO light goes off. If there is no positive indication that Gas is in use, I agree that the fridge design is lacking (not an uncommon thing in the RV world).
No, there are only 2 lights on the panel "auto" and "check" (note OP's pic in post#4).
If you force it to gas (and it lights) the "auto" light will go off and there will be no indicator lights.
If you force it to gas and it doesn't light, the "check" light will light.
So, normal indications are:
on gas (forced) working correctly...no light
on auto working correctly...auto light
on gas (forced) not working...check light
on auto not working...auto light and check light.
 

RVfixer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Posts
438
Mine works the same as Old_Crow's but a different Dometic model (DM2652). I will add that I have seen people make the mistake of pressing the Auto button to off before trying the activate the gas only button. The auto button has to be ON, Auto light ON, before you can activate the gas only button. And as above if you push it to gas only there are no lights unless the gas burner doesn't light in which case you get the check light.
 

Gary RV_Wizard

Site Team
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Posts
77,155
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
Thanks for that very complete function description, Wally. The DMxx82 and DMxx83 models all have the Gas Mode light. It's curious that they left it off the DMxx62 model. Wonder what else they cost-reduced?
 

uchu

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Posts
920
Location
Ontario, Canada
Mine works the same as Old_Crow's but a different Dometic model (DM2652). I will add that I have seen people make the mistake of pressing the Auto button to off before trying the activate the gas only button. The auto button has to be ON, Auto light ON, before you can activate the gas only button. And as above if you push it to gas only there are no lights unless the gas burner doesn't light in which case you get the check light.
My Dometic doesn't even have an AUTO button. It's just a MODE button and it cycles between gas, AC or Auto.
 

Old_Crow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Posts
3,625
Location
Tom's Place, California
Thanks for that very complete function description, Wally. The DMxx82 and DMxx83 models all have the Gas Mode light. It's curious that they left it off the DMxx62 model. Wonder what else they cost-reduced?
This one was only like a year old when I bought the coach in '16. Give me a few more years and I'll let you know. So far, except for the high elevation thing, it's been working fine.
 
Top Bottom