Full Time: Trailer or Class C?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aragorn

Howdy all. I'm an artist and at the moment an art teacher at a high school. Seriously thinking of leaving teaching to do my own art: murals etc. and full time in an RV or camper. RIght now I have a Toyota FJ Cruiser, which I really like and do not really want to sell.

Back in 2016/2017 I spent a year in California getting my masters degree and boondocked for the most part towing a small camper trailer. As much as I loved it, towing wasn't always that great of an experience: it was difficult to park often, because backing up was a major pain. Also, the wear and tear on the FJC and the fuel consumption was an issue.

One thing I don't like about trailers is that if there's an issue while sleeping, you have to go outside to get in the drive vehicle to leave, exposing you to whatever is happening. I think I woul drather tow a drive vehicle with a small Class C than tow a travel trailer.

So my dilemma is; would I be able to tow the FJC? Can't flat tow it, and wouldn't want to, so that adds more complication and weight with a trailer for the vehicle. I'd like to be able to travel the country: maybe doing murals and props etc. and it would be nice to have a work area in the RV.

I guess I am babbling but just trying to get my thoughts straight. I guess I could keep the FJC here in Arizona when I travel in the RV, and live out of the RV here while parked at a campground. There are several 55 and over campgrounds that seem nice.

I've also thought of getting an old CJ5 or even a Mahindra as a tow vehicle. They are super light and I can still go exploring the backcountry in those.

Anyone dealt with this dilemma before?

Welcome to the discussion forums!